Don’t look…

In Hokkien, we say. “Bak chew ching phai!” That literally means that the eyes are very bad and it refers to cases where we see something and we want it so much that in the end, we end up buying it even though we do not need it at all and it ends up being dumped somewhere in the house. What a  waste!

Well, I was here

Warong Cafe

…the other day and I saw them serving the nasi ayam penyet (clobbered chicken rice) that somebody had ordered. I thought it looked very nice and I made up my mind there and then that I would come back and give it a try…and I did!

My missus went into the shop ahead of me and she saw some people having their Sarawak laksa and she thought it looked very good so she wanted that too (RM5.00)…

Warong Cafe Sarawak laksa 1

It was nice, nicer than the one here or here, that’s for sure but there wasn’t much of the coveted laksa taste. I wonder what sambal laksa they use. There was just one prawn but that was a big one – we did go to our favourite place in town for this not too long ago and though it was good, there were only two tiny shrimps now. There was an egg in this one too, some fish cake and tofu and a lot of the shredded chicken…

Warong Cafe Sarawak laksa 2

…and it was cheaper than all those other places.

My missus said that what she was served looked different from the ones she saw. Well, they probably had the special – with the very much bigger udang galah (freshwater prawns). Of course, if you choose to have that, you will have to pay quite a bit more though I do not know how much as I did not bother to ask nor look it up in their menu.

Of course, I stuck steadfastly to my decision – to try their nasi ayam penyet (RM8.00)…

Warong Cafe nasi ayam penyet 1

Yes, it was good even though I got a slab of breast meat and I did not really mind. It came with a bowl of complimentary soup and that sambal with a wedge of lime in it was very very spicy and I loved it!

Yes, there were the piece of tempeh and fried tofu

Warong Cafe nasi ayam penyet 2

…too. I remember they went MIA (missing in action) at this place here even though they had them in the photograph they had on display.

I did enjoy what I had that day…

Warong Cafe nasi ayam penyet 3

…but considering the higher price and how I enjoyed their nasi kerabu a lot more, I think I would rather have that the next time we drop by here again…and no, we will not look at what the people at the other tables are having anymore. LOL!!!

WARONG CAFE (2.318841, 111.831732), formerly Sri Tanjung Cafe, is located among the shops in between Jalan Tapang and Jalan Tapang Timur towards the end of Jalan Kampung Nangka – RTM Sibu is located right across the road on the right. It faces the open space where the Sibu inter-town bus terminal was a long time ago and the stalls at Taman Harmoni were operating temporarily here while the hawker centre was under renovation.

