Stop by here…

On Wednesday last week, we had to drive to my girl’s school in the jungle to bring her back to town as she had some business to attend to from Thursday onwards, stretching over the weekend. I decided to stop by here on the way to pass some of my ulam raja seedlings to my friend, Philip, who runs the drink business there. I did pass him some and some seeds as well but he said that nothing came out of those. I do hope he has a lot more luck with the ones I gave him that day.

Well, he told me that the mee sua, our Foochow longevity noodles in the traditional red wine chicken soup here…

Dragon Door stall

…is very nice and one would have to go early as by around 10, it would all be sold out and the lady would close for the day.

I wanted to pack something for my girl’s lunch after school before we started off on our journey home but the fried chicken at this new stall there…

Dragon Door new stall

…looked like it had been coated with bread crumbs or whatever batter and the other type appeared to have been marinated with a bit of soy sauce so I decided not to take the chance.

In the meantime, we had something to eat there so we would not have to worry about our lunch that day and I ordered the kueh chap (RM6.00)…

Dragon Door kueh chap

…from the first stall. It was nice but different from the usual. No, it did not taste like the one I had here but the soup was kind of herbal as well and the chili dip…

Dragon Door kueh chap, chili dip

…was good. It did seem to be somewhat popular though as I overheard some other customers ordering the same.

My missus had the lor mee (RM5.00)…

Dragon Door lor mee

…that she said was all right and yes, she loved the chili dip too.

In the end, I decided to buy the hung ngang (big bihun) in the traditional red wine chicken soup (RM6.00) for my girl – she can’t eat mee sua as it is made from wheat and I heated it up at her quarters for her. I did try a bit but I thought it was, at best, ok. I would not rank it at the top but it was good enough to be placed among my favourites in town here, here or here but in this one here, there were 3 pieces of meat instead of the usual 2, an egg and one dried shitake mushroom. I liked the soup here too but I am not sure if they serve mee sua in it – I can only recall having it with hung ngang there.

And talking about the best mee sua in town brings me to one other place in town but that would be in my next post. Stick around!

DRAGON DOOR (2.279520, 111.839882) is located along Jalan Aman, among the (new) shops on your left if you are coming in from Jalan Wong King Huo or on your right if you are coming from Lanang Road.

