Slow hands…

Be forewarned that you may need to wait for a very long time if you drop by here. They are indeed very slow.

The only thing that will be served very quickly will be their nasi kerabu which will be on your table almost instantly. I guess everything is ready so they will just have to put everything together in a plate and bring it out.

We dropped by there again last Friday and my missus wanted their nasi kerabu ayam percik (RM6.50)…

Warong Cafe nasi kerabu ayam percik 1

…which came out in no time at all…

Warong Cafe nasi kerabu ayam percik 2

Now THAT is the kind of ayam percik that I am more familiar with, with a bit of gravy, not dry like the one here, and yes, it was very nice. My missus sure enjoyed it and kept singing praises of it.

However, we had to wait quite a bit for the drinks but not as long as my order, their mee mamak seafood (RM6.50)…

Warong Cafe mee mamak seafood

It took like forever and thank goodness, it was nice with lots of prawns…

Warong Cafe mee mamak seafood, prawns

…and sotong (squid)…

Warong Cafe mee mamak seafood, sotong

…definitely heaps nicer than what my missus had here and it is cheaper too but if I had to wait THAT long, I sure would not want to order that ever again. After all, seeing how they are both priced the same and I do think the nasi kerabu is nicer, RM6.00 only for the one with fish, I would just stick to the latter, thank you very much.

A friend did drop by for the nasi kerabu kambing bakar but she felt the meat was not really tender and her friend said she could detect the smell of gas and assumed that they grilled it over the gas stove, not over hot burning charcoal. If that is the case, I think I will not bother to give that a try.

I saw a lot of other customers having their noodle dishes and also their fried rice. I guess they did not mind the long wait except for one lady in a group – I don’t know what she wanted but she must have been quite pissed off so she went and cancelled her order.

They even took quite a bit of time in their calculations using a calculator – I kept telling them the total, RM19.00 – RM6.50 X 2 plus RM3.00 X 2 for our drinks. I could work it out mentally so very fast and easily too but no, either they are extra careful or they have very slow hands…

WARONG CAFE (2.318841, 111.831732), formerly Sri Tanjung Cafe, is located among the shops in between Jalan Tapang and Jalan Tapang Timur towards the end of Jalan Kampung Nangka – RTM Sibu is located right across the road on the right.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

12 thoughts on “Slow hands…”

  1. I don’t like to wait long for my food so I will go for the nasi kerabu.

    Once bitten, twice shy. We did not have to wait that long the previous time when we had the ayam penyet and the Sarawak laksa – maybe all pre-prepared, just put together and serve like the nasi kerabu or there were not many people then.

  2. I don’t like waiting in line for a seat but I don’t mind waiting for food if it means it’s being prepared fresh on the spot. Your nasi kerabu looks delish.

    Yes, they do it very well here. We keep going back for more.

  3. Reminds me of Noodles Descendants over here. Some people have the patience to wait but not me. Mee mamak seafood looks great with those prawns.

    I went there once, waited for almost an hour but it was ok as I was with a friend and we had a nice long chat.

    I wouldn’t want to order that mee memak again if it is going to take THAT long.

  4. Haha. Lots of patience needed to dine over here. If those in hurry, sure have to give this place a pass.

    The nasi kerabu sure looked good.

    Can always opt for the nasi kerabu, will be served very fast and I would say it is much nicer too than all the rest that I’ve tried.

  5. Gosh, not for me then. I don’t like waiting for food because I mutate and turn to Hulk. LOL. Anyway, that’s a unique looking rice. That’s a plus.

    The rice is da’best!!! Surprisingly, I was very patient – maybe we went early 11 something and it wasn’t quite lunchtime yet so I did not blow my top. I did say nicely, “Lama nya!!!” (so long) when it came and the young boy just smiled.

  6. Slow hands … one of my favourite songs this year 😉 the food here looks good – packed with ingredients!

    Not mine – I’m a hopeless romantic, my current fave is Perfect by Ed Sheeran and I like the new ones by Sam Smith and also, Andra Day.

    Yes, good but may take time. I’ll just stick to their nasi kerabu. Best!

  7. Oh yum! Nasi kerabu. Saw it on the menu of a restaurant at the mall today RM33.00. I will go to the one near my office to satisfy any cravings 🙂

    Good grief!!! And there I was ranting away at the RM14.50 Indian nasi campur I had yesterday – post on that coming up soon. 😀

  8. This Nasi Kerabu that you had here, I must say it looks so good. And value for money.

    The only one in town, unless it is Ramadan, and thankfully it is very very nice and not expensive too. Love it!

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

