Same old places…

I have not been around much lately so as you can see in this post, I ended up going to the same old places to eat.

We stopped by here once and I had the nasi lemak with chicken drumstick curry (RM8.00)…

Colourful Cafe nasi lemak with chicken curry

…while my missus had their fried kway teow (RM4.50)…

Colourful Cafe fried kway teow

I think I did mention in a previous post that the prices here have gone up by around 50 sen but as long as the food is good, it does not really matter as its location is convenient for us to stop by on our way home and parking is a breeze plus it is free.

We were here not too long ago and I was quite upset by the fact that they did not seem to have a lot of the things on their elaborate menu but we were in the vicinity and I wanted my missus to try the nice nasi bryani (RM9.00)…

Sara Cafe nasi bryani ayam

…that I had and thought was really good. The chicken thigh seemed much smaller this time around and it did not look like my missus enjoyed it a lot – she just said it was not spicy. Period.

I ordered the roti canai (RM1.20)…

Sara Cafe roti canai

…and though I liked how it was kind of crispy in parts, I did not think I would want to order that again as I found it way too oily, so oily that I could not use my hands to tear it up and dip in the curry gravy and eat.

I liked the teh-c special (RM3.00)…

Sara Cafe teh-c special

…and I thought the mee jawa (RM6.00 for the special)…

Sara Cafe mee jawa special 1

…was very good too…

Sara Cafe mee jawa special 2

I loved the taste of the thick and rich gravy but for the special, one would get a piece of fried chicken, that’s all. I would prefer the fried prawn fritters than one would get for the mee jawa special here.

Then, on another morning, we stopped by here but it was a Wednesday and that stall with the nice own-made fish balls was having its day off so my missus went and ordered the seafood noodles (RM6.00)…

Happiness Cafe seafood noodles

…that she had once and liked a lot.

I tried the Foochow sio bee (90 sen each)…

Happiness Cafe Foochow sio bee

…from the mee sua stall and much to our delight, they were really very good!

I mentioned in that post that the Sarawak laksa stall had closed down – well, it has reopened, now run by a couple and no, I did not go for the laksa queen (RM28.00)…

Happiness Cafe laksa queen

…and no, I don’t think I would ever want to part with a whopping RM58.00 for the king – I guess the prawns would be extra huge if you order the latter. Instead, I just settled for their laksa special (RM7.00)…

Happiness Cafe laksa special

…RM5.00 for the regular.

It tasted nice, much nicer than what I had here but no, it did not have much of the Sarawak laksa fragrance and taste plus I would not recommend the special as the serving was so very huge, a whole lot of bihun, that it was quite a struggle for me to finish all of it.

So there you have it, something old and something new that I had over the past week or so at those same old places around here.

COLOURFUL CAFE (2.316673, 111.837539) is located in the Renew4U building at the junction of Brooke Drive and Lorong Kwong Ann 8, across the road from the Church of Jesus  Christ of the Latter Day Saints while SARA CAFE (2.307544, 111.820744) is located among the shops at Simpang Tiga, Sibu, where the Bisonte Grocer & Deli is, one of the two facing Jalan Bunga Normah 4 and HAPPINESS CAFE, (2.306608, 111.827179) formerly KONG MA MA, is located along Lorong Delta 4, off Jalan Delta. The left turn into Lorong Delta 9 will lead you straight to the Delta Public Swimming Pool.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

12 thoughts on “Same old places…”

  1. I like the laksa with the prawns.

    It tasted great, like masak lemak. Too bad it did not have any of the authentic Sarawak laksa tatse. They should go into lontong instead, serve the broth with ketupat/nasi impit and the other toppings for that nice Indonesian dish.

  2. Free and easy parking makes a big difference right? When you’re comparing the price of a meal and take into account transport and parking costs, sometimes the one that’s a few RM more on the menu, is actually less in total for the experience. Still, my Aussie friends looking at those prices would be amazed.

    Parking is cheap here, 40 sen for half an hour – I wouldn’t mind paying but at places around the town centre, it can be so difficult trying to find a vacant lot and one ends up going round and round in search of one. I wouldn’t bother, not unless I have to.

  3. Your post and mun’s are almost the same and i hate you guys for giving today a good line up foor to eat! The noodles are my first pics!

    Oh? I thought she went western in today’s post? I so love the big breakfast that she had but that platter is quite enough to pay for all the we had in my post. Good things don’t come cheap, I guess. 😀

  4. Everything looked tempting here. I drooling.

    Nasi lemak with curry is my option but that laksa special is calling me! Lol. My coming post is on laksa, stay tune. ^^

    Nasi lemak is nice, one of my favourites in town…but not cheap. 😦 The laksa here, can forget about it – nice but no laksa taste.

  5. All looks so good. Hard to make a choice. For this time, laksa & sio bee for me.

    Sio bee’s a good choice, not the laksa. Nice but for true blue laksa lovers especially from Kuching, it will be disappointing. No laksa taste.

  6. i’m a creature of habit.. sometimes at work, during lunch time, I can visit the same ol’ coffee shop nearly every day of the week.

    My friend in KL is like that too, eats at the same place, doesn’t care what she eats as long as she gets to eat something. That was why when I went over, she did not know where to take me, did not know where to find all the good food.

    For one thing, if I eat the same thing at the same place all the time, I have to close shop soon – nothing to blog about.

  7. Sio bee, I like, never get tired of eating it…

    I bet you mean the Hong Kong-style siew mai, the ones you get at all the dim sum places. For sure, you cannot get these Foochow sio bee there. Very different, the texture and the taste – you wouldn’t know what ours are like unless you come over.

  8. I like to have mee jawa with prawn fritters too. I actually eat mee jawa for the prawn fritters. Haha.

    That place where their specials, mee jawa and everything else, come with prawn fritters, you can buy the fritters. So very cheap, RM1 for 5 but later, only 4, dunno now. I don’t buy anymore because of the wheat flour batter, not gluten-free. My girl loved it so much!

  9. I didn’t learn my lessons! Not a good idea to come here at night ! See la, now craving for the nasi lemak, char kway teow and errr.. did I see some galah Udang? Oh dear !!

    Some people are suckers for punishment! Muahahahahaha!!!!

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

