Take my time…

I cooked some fish curry not too long ago and my girl loved it! I did mention in my post at the time that I only used half of the packet of instant curry paste and half of the can of coconut cream so the other day, I took them out of the freezer to cook some more…

My fish curry, bawal hitam

…but this time with ikan bawal hitam (black pomfret). However, I did not have most of the ingredients that I added before, just some brinjal and tofu puffs.  Nonetheless, it was good and once again, my girl enjoyed it very much.

I can’t remember exactly now but it was definitely several months ago when I bought this pack of beef satay…

CCK beef satay

…20 sticks altogether…

20 sticks

…from a supermarket here. It was so long ago that I cannot even remember the price but I guess it was not expensive, otherwise I would not have bought it.

It is a product of our local Sibu company that imports and sells all those frozen stuff here, there and everywhere – I even saw their shop…

CCK in Seremban
*Archive photo*

…in the peninsula in Seremban, Negeri Sembilan.

My girl asked me a couple of times why I had not cooked them yet, knowing how I can’t seem to stand seeing things sitting idle in the freezer or fridge or in the pantry but this time was an exception to the rule. Somehow or other, I was taking my time and did not seem to feel the urge to get down to it.

The sticks of satay were all pre-marinated so I did not have to go through the chore of doing that but they were frozen…

Frozen

…and I had to take them out earlier to let them defrost slowly.

No, I did not grill them over hot burning charcoal in a barbecue pit – I just used a pan…

Grill in a pan

…basking them with cooking oil using some of the stalks of serai (lemon grass) from my garden, ends bruised well, and turning them over time and again, like how I would often see them doing it at the stalls.

I made sure that some parts were well-grilled…

Well-grilled

…and slightly burnt on the outside, still o.k. on the inside. That would give the satay the added fragrance and taste.

Once they were done, I served them with some canned satay peanut sauce…

Served with peanut sauce

…that I bought, Sunstar Brand. This is the brand that we use these days, not as good as the one we used to love, but it is not too bad. For reasons unknown, the company has seen it fit to stop producing the very nice satay peanut sauce even though I do see some of their other products like canned chicken curry, for instance, being sold at the supermarkets and shops.

As for the satay, for one thing, the chunks of beef were very thick and it was quite tender, not tough at all, unlike the ones sold at the shops and stalls. I have already given up buying any from them as it would be a struggle trying to eat theirs – just like leather, unlike their chicken or lamb!

On top of that, it tasted very nice and we certainly enjoyed them very much. I sure wouldn’t mind buying some more and you can be sure that the next time around, I would not be taking my sweet time in getting down to cooking them.

