Don’t look…

In Hokkien, we say. “Bak chew ching phai!” That literally means that the eyes are very bad and it refers to cases where we see something and we want it so much that in the end, we end up buying it even though we do not need it at all and it ends up being dumped somewhere in the house. What a  waste!

Well, I was here

Warong Cafe

…the other day and I saw them serving the nasi ayam penyet (clobbered chicken rice) that somebody had ordered. I thought it looked very nice and I made up my mind there and then that I would come back and give it a try…and I did!

My missus went into the shop ahead of me and she saw some people having their Sarawak laksa and she thought it looked very good so she wanted that too (RM5.00)…

Warong Cafe Sarawak laksa 1

It was nice, nicer than the one here or here, that’s for sure but there wasn’t much of the coveted laksa taste. I wonder what sambal laksa they use. There was just one prawn but that was a big one – we did go to our favourite place in town for this not too long ago and though it was good, there were only two tiny shrimps now. There was an egg in this one too, some fish cake and tofu and a lot of the shredded chicken…

Warong Cafe Sarawak laksa 2

…and it was cheaper than all those other places.

My missus said that what she was served looked different from the ones she saw. Well, they probably had the special – with the very much bigger udang galah (freshwater prawns). Of course, if you choose to have that, you will have to pay quite a bit more though I do not know how much as I did not bother to ask nor look it up in their menu.

Of course, I stuck steadfastly to my decision – to try their nasi ayam penyet (RM8.00)…

Warong Cafe nasi ayam penyet 1

Yes, it was good even though I got a slab of breast meat and I did not really mind. It came with a bowl of complimentary soup and that sambal with a wedge of lime in it was very very spicy and I loved it!

Yes, there were the piece of tempeh and fried tofu

Warong Cafe nasi ayam penyet 2

…too. I remember they went MIA (missing in action) at this place here even though they had them in the photograph they had on display.

I did enjoy what I had that day…

Warong Cafe nasi ayam penyet 3

…but considering the higher price and how I enjoyed their nasi kerabu a lot more, I think I would rather have that the next time we drop by here again…and no, we will not look at what the people at the other tables are having anymore. LOL!!!

WARONG CAFE (2.318841, 111.831732), formerly Sri Tanjung Cafe, is located among the shops in between Jalan Tapang and Jalan Tapang Timur towards the end of Jalan Kampung Nangka – RTM Sibu is located right across the road on the right. It faces the open space where the Sibu inter-town bus terminal was a long time ago and the stalls at Taman Harmoni were operating temporarily here while the hawker centre was under renovation.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

11 thoughts on “Don’t look…”

  1. RM8 for the ayam penyet meal with tempeh and tofu is a good deal I would say and RM5 for the laksa is a steal. I ate sarawak laksa in PJ recently and it costs RM9 for a much smaller bowl than shown in this post.

    I guess overheads are higher, living standard too so things would be more expensive over there. I did see photos of the Sarawak laksa there, lots of prawns. With more prawns here, one would need to pay more too.

  2. Every time I see chicken, my mouth waters! 🙂 Here in Canada it is our Thanksgiving today. I will be having ham, mashed onion potatoes, and carrots for my supper. Simple, but tasty. 🙂

    Ham! I love ham…and bacon. Have not bought for a while now, way too expensive here, all imported. Can’t afford to eat very often. My girl loves them too….and mashed potatoes as well.

  3. The ayam penyet I had (RM8), compare to yours only has a piece of cobblered chicken (drumstick), 4 slices of cucumber, some sambal & a bowl of complimentary soup. I would say yours is a good deal. I heard from my friend that some of the laksa sellers in Kuching are mixing their laksa broth with curry powder. How true it is I don’t know.

    Dunno what sambal they use here, usually no laksa taste, very lemak – may taste ok but just not the same. Use curry powder, might as well call it curry mee liao.

    Penyet here was good just that their nasi kerabu was nicer, and RM6.00. cheaper.

  4. Usually ayam penyet served with a thigh. I dont remember been served with breast but with all the spices, I bet it is as tasty as any parts of the chicken.

    Hmm. Your missus’ laksa did not looked that appealing to me. Sorry to say that. Haha. Maybe the broth.

    Here too. Dunno why there’s breast here. Maybe they bought the chicken whole, better. Those frozen thighs may not be as firm and nice.

    I thought the Sarawak laksa looked ok, not the way we are used to seeing laksa being presented but it was the taste that disappointed me, not enough laksa taste and fragrance, just a bit…a very little bit but at least better than many of the Chinese stalls here. May look good, taste complete out – may be nice but no, not like what Sarawak laksa should taste like. Same with our kolo mee here – most, I would just write off.

  5. I love their sign – very encouraging – Try it. Good taste. 😉

    For a Malay eatery, it seems that all the signs are in English…and grammatically correct English at that. Sometimes I cringe in embarrassment at the signs I see at some of the shops.

  6. Haha yea, i always end up buying a lot of unnecessary stuff too!

    That makes the two of us. That’s why I do not like going out. Just stay home, will not spend a sen.

  7. breast meat! but why… request for thigh,that’s what I always do. 😛
    how’s the sambal? usually for ayam penyet dishes, their sambal is over the top in terms of spiciness.

    I would ask for a thigh next time, if there is a next time. I would rather go for their nasi kerabu – nicer and only RM6, cheaper.

  8. That what happens to me, always see this and that, want to eat, in the end, I always ends up overeating…

    Me too, especially at places where I feel I may not drop by again all that soon, wanna try as much as I can one go.

  9. Looks very spicy indeed… I think I cannot tahan the spicyness… nowadays whenever I take chilli, I sure cough.. wonder if my throat is already injured.. so sad..

    Too delicate, not seasoned well to handle anything not mild and light…and bland. 😀

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

