Very good…

I’ve blogged about this place so many times…

Chopsticks, Sibu

…and looking at the crowd here, it is very obvious that it is one of the most popular eating joints in town.

This stall…

Chopsticks new Malay stall

…did not seem to do so well though. Once, we used to enjoy the beef noodles but the people moved elsewhere and after that, there were at least one or two other people running that stall but eventually, they either moved elsewhere as well or called it a day.

I must say that I am glad there is another Malay/Muslim stall in this area of shops now as prior to this, I think there was only one at the coffee shop facing the back entrance of the mall and that roti canai stall here that has since moved in a bit, right behind this one and it does seem to be doing very well – it has been around for quite a while now. Other than those two stalls, one would have to go to the fried chicken franchise at the mall or the outlet of Sarawak’s own broasted chicken franchise in the vicinity…

Sugar Bun Delta
*Archive photo*

…if one wanted any halal food.

Well, that morning, I tried the nasi lemak special (RM5.00)…

Chopsticks nasi lemak special

…that came with the very nice fried chicken wing and one whole salted fish…

Salted fish

…and masak hitam beef…

Chopsticks masak hitam beef

…other than the usual condiments. I asked for the sambal egg in place of the usual plain one and no, they did not have a problem with that at all.

The rice was fine, quite lemak and had the light fragrance of pandan, and everything else tasted great right down to the little bowl of complimentary soup that came with my order and I thought RM5.00 was cheap for all that was in the platter. I sure would not mind going back again for this and I would want to see what they have for their nasi campur but the nice lady that I spoke to said that they do not have that at this point in time – they would probably start in March.