Once before…

We were here once before when it first opened its doors…

Hakka Yong Tau Foo Sibu

…in September last year and we quite enjoyed what we had then. However, somehow or other, we never did go back again until last Sunday, when we dropped by for lunch.

Hmmm…it looks like they have their fair share of impatient customers…

Sorry

…but we did not have to wait very long that day. Well, for one thing, there were not that many people around.

We wanted the eggplant slices (RM1.70 each)…

Eggplant & bitter gourd

…that my girl liked a lot the first time around but when it was served, the mum was grumbling away that they were no longer as nice. I tried a bit and thought it was all right, not as strong with the salted fish taste as before but like how my girl puts it, as long as it is eggplant, it is nice! I did not get to eat the bitter gourd (RM1.70 a slice) – the two ladies shared that piece between the two of them.

I thought of ordering the black vinegar pork trotter again but I changed my mind when I saw this pork dish (RM8.00)…

Pork

– I don’t think they had this on the menu before. However, we did not think it was all that nice, rather hard and dry and it worked out to about RM1.00 for each of those stamp-sized bits. I would enjoy the black vinegar pork trotter a lot more, I’m sure.

We also had this stuffed tofu puff and the meatball (RM1.70 each)…

Tofu pok & meatball

…in the very nice soup and this tofu with fried shrimps dish (RM8.00)…

Fried shrimp tofu

…as well.

Rice was RM1.20 a plate and with our drinks, the total came up to RM33.90. I guess that was all right but the thing was we did not think we had anything that would get us rushing back for more – at best, I would say it was something that we may consider having sometimes for a change.