I’m in control…

This used to be a Malaysian franchise outlet

I prefer original 1

…but I heard that one fine day, the franchise owner decided to call it a day so these people here were left to take over control and manage on their own. However, I heard from my friend/ex-classmate, Robert, that the guy still holds the franchise under one of his companies using this new name which I feel is a good thing as I could never understand why the place should be named after that West Malaysian town when it had no connection whatsoever with it.

Other than the change in name, they did do a bit…

I prefer original 2

…here and there…

I prefer original 3

…with the decor of the place.

No, I did not drop by all that often even during those days when it was still a franchise but I do remember having enjoyed some of the stuff they dished out then. I had not been here for a long time though and I could not remember why until I saw this…

10% service charge

On top of the 6% GST, they are charging 10% service charge. I do not mind giving if the food is really great and the service is excellent but I do not fancy the idea of being forced to fork out the money for this.

My missus had their nasi lemak nyonya (RM10.90)…

I prefer original nasi lemak nyonya

…which was in their set lunch menu which meant that she could pick a free drink from the list…

I prefer original set lunch menu

…at the bottom somewhere. I did try a bit of the rice which was not lemak, unfortunately, and the chicken and also the sambal and I would say that I was not impressed – I still prefer the nasi lemak that I can get here but my missus insisted that this was nicer. Ah well! Like I always say, one man’s meat is another man’s poison, to each his own!

I had the nasi ayam penyet (RM11.50)…

I prefer original nasi ayam penyet 1

…which was on their set lunch menu before, going for RM9.90+ with one free drink. I wish they did not give those no-class-at-all mini keropok (prawn crackers) by the side – it would not have been so bad if they had been very nice but they were not, far from it!

The moment I started eating, it dawned on me why we liked it a lot when we had it before. The sambal was super spicy, very very nice and yes, the chicken was good too…

I prefer original nasi ayam penyet 2

…and I did enjoy the pickles by the side. Should I happen to drop by and order this again, I most certainly would ask them to leave out the keropok and give me a bit more of the pickles.

The total, including the kopi-o-peng (iced black coffee), RM3.90, that I had came up to RM26.30 and with the service charge and GST, RM4.37 in total, all in all, I had to fork out RM30.65 altogether. The service was prompt and efficient but considering that I had to pay 10% more for that, I did feel that they could at least smile a bit and make some effort to be more friendly or cordial. Other than that, looking at the general quality of what we had and the prices in general, I may drop by again should I happen to be in the vicinity and I feel like having something here but you will definitely not find me going out of my way for this.