Rain, rain, rain…

I was able to get away every day from around 4.00 to 6.00 p.m. so on the first day my friend, Nick, was in town, I went and picked him up at the hotel and took him here…

Sungai Merah Sibu

– Sungai Merah, the Red River, reputed to be the spot where the earliest Foochow settlers landed when they came to Sibu and we did manage to hop over to the Wong Nai Siong Memorial Park there…

Wong Nai Siong Memorial Part
*Archive photo*

…and Nick had a photograph of his taken at the so-called Lovers’ Bridge…

Nick at Lovers' Bridge

…before it started to rain cats and dogs. Gosh!!! It literally poured and there were flash floods everywhere and though we did drop by our impressive-looking university here, we just drove around and left. There was no way we could get out of the car to walk around and take photographs and do whatever else we might want to do there.

Seeing that visibility was low from inside the car, I did not see any point in driving around so I took Nick here…

Noodle House Sibu
*Archive photo*

…for the deep fried kompia stuffed with stewed pork belly (RM5.20, exclusive of GST)…

Noodle House kompia pork belly

…and yes, he liked it! I do not recall it being this expensive though – I guess like everything else around here these days, the price has gone up too.

He enjoyed the mille crepe, rum & raisin (RM7.80, exclusive of GST)…

Noodle House mille crepe, rum & raisin

…too and for one who has tasted the celebrated mille crepes in Malacca to say that the one here is good is truly a compliment, I must say. Now, this is what food bloggers and foodies will usually do before they get down to eating what they have ordered…

Nick at Noodle House

Hehehehehe!!!!

He did not want to try the macarons but I insisted on ordering this – their chocolate lava cake (RM9.50, exclusive of GST)…

Noodle House chocolate lava cake 1

…and yes, he loved it…

Noodle House chocolate lava cake 2

…a lot!

By the time we  finished, it had stopped raining so I took Nick to the Tua Pek Kong wharf to see the floating grocery stores…

Sibu floating shops
*Archive photo*

…but I think it was rather late already and all of them would be closed. He did drop by the temple…

Tua Pek Kong temple, Sibu
*Archive photo*

…but it was already after 5.30 p.m. so he could not climb up the 7-storey pagoda for a bird’s eye view of Sibu town…and I did tell him not to miss the very nice park right behind the temple…

Park behind Tua Pek Kong temple, Sibu
*Archive photo*

His plan was to walk over to the pasar malam (night market)…

Pasar Malam, Sibu
*Archive photo*

…a stone’s throw away but I heard he was somewhat disappointed as most of the stalls were not open owing to the heavy downpour earlier. Of course, I could not go along with him as I had to rush quickly to my parents’ house to be with my dad for the rest of the evening and all through the night so poor Nick had to make his way around and back to the hotel on his own.