Business as usual…

Oh no!!! It looks like my favourite Penang har mee (prawn noodles) place is no longer there…

New stall

I don’t know if it has been relocated elsewhere or the people have decided to call it a day. I did hear sometime ago also that the lady at my favourite kampua mee place here had decided to close shop too as she was unable to cope with all that work on her own owing to health reasons.

Well, this used to be my favourite…

Rasa Sayang

– the aforementioned lady used to work for them before venturing out on her own and thankfully, it is business as usual here. It sure looked like it is as popular as ever. I was there around 7.00 something in the morning on Sunday and it was already packed with people!

There is a little bit of difference now – in the past, somebody would come and take your orders but these days, they will give you the menu and some slips of paper…

Self-written order

…and you will have to write what you want yourself and pass it back to them.

That wasn’t really a problem as my orders came pretty fast despite the crowd. The kopi-o-peng kao (iced black coffee, strong) was all right…

Rasa Sayang kopi-o-peng kao

– as good as I could remember it to be and the mee pok (flat noodles), white and dry (RM2.80)…

Rasa Sayang mee pok

…was to my liking as well. I particularly loved the stewed pork slices, a whole lot nicer than the somewhat bland boiled char siew wannnabe that one would get at most other places around here.

Having said that, I thought the mee pok was a little too firm – I think the next time around, I would just stick to the kampua mee. I remember I never used to enjoy the pian sip here all that much as the skin used to be rather thick but this time around (RM2.80)…

Rasa Sayang pian sip

I thought it was pretty good. I sure would not mind ordering that again.

I’ve brought a lot of people here before – bloggers and ex-bloggers and friends from the peninsula and looking at how they have been able to maintain that kind of standard more or less, I sure would not mind bringing people here again…