In the summertime…

My daughter and I flew on Malaysia Airlines MH2715, 17th February from Sibu to KLIA…and she left for Auckland the following night (18th), also on Malaysia Airlines and I came home on MH2718, 19th February from KLIA to Sibu .

It has been well over a week now that Melissa has gone back to Wellington, New Zealand…and other than the slight initial flu and a little problem with her body clock readjusting to the 5-hour time difference, she has managed to resettle herself there nicely.

It is hot this summer, unlike the time when she first arrived there this time last year (2010)…

Wellington Harbour

…but that certainly doesn’t stop the people there from having a whole lot of fun and excitement…

Hot summer in Wellington

Melissa too was up and about enjoying herself…

Melissa in the summer of 2011, Wellington

…admiring the pretty flowers all around and playing with the wild ducks…

Melissa & the ducks

…and as a senior, she had been busy orientating the juniors who had just arrived in the city – bringing them around, familiarising them with the place and helping them in any way she could…

Melissa & her juniors

No, Bananaz, no!!! You’re too old to go back to school now! Muahahahaha!!! Hmmmm…how come we never had teachers who looked like this during our time? Tsk! Tsk!

Well, judging from the photographs, she certainly had a good time – there was a movie and even theatre in the park…

Mel & friends in the park

She and her friends went to watch Shakespeare’s “A Winter’s Tale”…

Shakespeare in the park

Sigh! The only “Winter’s Tale” I know is the one by David Essex. Anybody old enough to know him? LOL!!!

And she’s been eating well too! This was from Cafe Neo, near her apartment…

Something from Cafe Neo

…and she was at Nandos too, amongst others…

Mel @ Nandos

Well, it’s back to the grind for her this coming week – classes, lectures, tutorials, assignments, tests and what have you. Good luck, love, in the year ahead…and God bless. Have fun sometimes…and eat well!

Sweet thing…

Usually when I go somewhere, I would buy something to take home…and maybe give some to my parents and sister and also to my in-laws.

On this recent trip to KL, I went to the stall selling nyonya kuehs…

Lulu nyonya kueh
*recycled pic*

…located in the basement of Sungai Wang Plaza, opposite the KFC outlet there.

I’ve bought some from there before but only to eat in my hotel room. On that previous occasion, I found that they were really very nice so this time around, I decided to buy some and take home.

I bought the chai kueh

Lulu's chai kueh 1

…which were very well done. The skin is so soft like wantan skin and it simply melts in the mouth – nothing like the tough and rubbery ones that we have here.

The filling was just right…

Lulu's chai kueh 2

…the taste of  hay bee (dried prawns) not overpowering like those from Kuching where they seem to put a whole lot of it. Sometimes, too much of a good thing may not necessarily be better.

I’ve bought the ang koo kueh before…

Lulu's ang koo 1

…and again, the skin was nicely done and there was enough filling inside…

Lulu's ang koo 2

…for it to be considered good enough. I do prefer the ones from Kuching though as they are a whole lot bigger and are very well-stuffed inside. Anyway, they’re way better than those that we can get here in Sibu…and as they say, beggars can’t be choosers.

I did not buy the kueh salad or serimuka this time but I bought these kao-teng kueh (9-layer kueh)…

Lulu's kao teng kueh 1

There are four different flavours in each pack – the green one should be the pandan (screwpine leaves) flavour and I reckon the the pink and white is the original traditional style, rich with santan (coconut milk) and made up of pink and white layers but some of us may be more familiar with the multi-coloured ones.

I guess the very colourful purple one below is yam while the golden/orange one is pumpkin…

Lulu's kao teng kueh 2

Whatever the flavour is, it is so soft, so fine, and so lemak (rich)…so out of this world.

I did not want to buy a lot as I was worried that they might spoil by the time I got home. It seemed that my fears were unfounded as they were perfectly all right the next day (after being kept in the fridge overnight) and now that I am certain of this, you can be sure that on my next trip to KL, I will definitely be buying a lot more to take home… Yum! Yum!