Too much of a good thing…

After all the good, rich food served during the Chinese New Year celebration, by the 3rd Day or so, I would be not be craving for that kind of stuff anymore and would rather have something simple instead. As a matter of fact, by dinner on the 2nd Day, my daughter was already asking for fried egg to eat with her plain rice.

In view of this, the next morning, I decided to cook some fish porridge. For that, I washed a cup of rice and added 6 cups of water to it inthe rice cooker and switched it on. In the meantime, I threw in around 6 thin slices of ginger, a few pandan (screwpine) leaves, knotted and some Chinese celery. I also added a tablespoon of sesame oil and half a teaspoon of salt and msg…or more, according to taste. Then I cut a stalk of leek into thin slices and threw that in as well, followed by thickly-sliced fish fillet.

When the porridge is ready, I served that piping hot, garnished with a bit of Chinese celery leaves…

STP's fish porridge

Needless to say, everybody enjoyed that.

As a matter of fact, even this would be a welcome change…

Mee Daddy - curry noodles

…after all those sweet cakes and cookies…or is it just me? A simple man, more at home with a very much simpler cuisine unlike what we have been having over the past few days?