Working for the weekend…

I always tell my girl that on weekdays, we shall just eat at home – the mum may cook some simple everyday dishes or I can always go out and buy if I need to. However, when the weekend comes, we can always go out and treat ourselves to some place nice.

Last Sunday, we went here for our lunch. I think I dropped by this outlet once only before and if I am not wrong, it opens at 11.00 a.m. We were there around that time and there were no other customers – of course, I was delighted. Quite a number came later and there were a few who ordered takeaways – those had to stand/sit and wait outside.

My girl and the mum did drop by once at around 3.00 p.m. and the place was packed so they went next door. I  saw from a sticker on the table that at that time, 3 to 5, they would be having their happy hours, 20% discount.

I ordered this karaage egg salad (RM6.90)…

Sushi King salad

…with its special in-house salad dressing to share but the ladies had their own personal orders to cope with so I ate most of that all by myself.

My missus had the spicy yakiniku set (RM19.90)…

Sushi King spicy beef

Yakiniku (焼き肉 or 焼肉) is a Japanese term that, in its broadest sense, refers to grilled meat cuisine. She had the beef and I did try a bit and it sure was spicy. I did not think it was to my liking so I did not help myself to more.

My girl had the piri piri chicken set (RM18.90)…

Sushi King piri piri chicken

…which she enjoyed very much. Of course I sampled a bit of it too and I was o.k. with it.

Both their sets came with a bowl of chawanmushi (Japanese steamed egg custard)…

Sushi King chawanmushi

…and a bowl of miso soup.

I had the yakiniku ebi fry bento (RM17.90)…

Sushi King bento

…which included pan-fried beef and vegetables, deep-fried prawns with spicy sauce and mayonnaise served with edamame salad, crabstick and fried fish cake. I particularly liked the beef – I thought that was very nice.

I kept asking my girl to help herself to the sushi on the carousel but she was not all that keen as she was saving tummy space for her own order. In the end, she relented and took the Norwegian salmon nishoku (RM6.00)…

Suchi King sushi

I did not take any from the carousel either except for the Hanjuku cheese cake, the orange-flavoured one (RM5.00)…

Sushi King cheese cake, orange

…which I did not like that much – I did not fancy the orange essence and the plain one (RM4.00)…

Sushi King cheese cake, plain 1

…which, between the two, in my opinion…

Sushi King cheese cake, plain 2

…is very much nicer. I simply could not resist giving them a try!

The total for everything came up to RM81.60, inclusive of drinks but with the 10% service charge and the 5% SST, the overall total came up to RM94.65. Of course it is never cheap eating at these franchise places but as long as we enjoy ourselves, it is all right to pamper ourselves once in a while, don’t you think?

SUSHI KING, the town outlet (2.291578, 111.820743) is located along Jalan Hospital, round the corner from the Lau King Howe Memorial Museum.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

6 thoughts on “Working for the weekend…”

  1. I don’t know why I am not so keen in Japanese or Korean cuisine unlike both my kids. Let us say that I will have it once in awhile if I am left with no choice. I love their chawanmushi though.

    We old folks not so trendy like our kids. I’m not into it so much, same with Korean ESPECIALLY kim chi, no, thank you! LOL!!! Will only go when I take my girl to enjoy…once in a while.

  2. Of course you can pamper yourself once in a while! The great dad deserves more treats! Go Korean next time?

    Yes, love the galbitang, the beef short ribs soup. So so so nice but so expensive. Been wanting to go to our favourite one here but always see a lot of cars around, may be too crowded, best avoided at a time like this.

  3. Same here, normally weekdays when I am working from home, I eat simple fare from my neighbourhood. Weekends, I will pamper myself by eating Japanese food, thai food etc.

    I wish there is Thai here. The good one we had closed down already, the other one, not so good, also closed. No more.

  4. Interesting to see piri piri chicken set in a Japanese restaurant

    I thought so too. I would expect maybe wasabi chicken – piri piri is more Portuguese, African or Brazilian than Japanese.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com