One of the few…

I wanted to buy some stuff for my gardening at the hardware store at one corner of the block but I was too early and it was not open yet. That was why I strolled over to this very popular place…

Chopsticks SOP

…in the middle of that same block to look around.

There were not that many customers and I was impressed by how everybody would stop at the table right in front of the entrance for the SOP, DIY. They have tied a yellow and black tape all around so this was the only place one could enter but sadly, there were some recalcitrant individuals who simply refused to comply and walked under the tape to go through. Sigh!!! I guess it takes all kinds to make the world!

For one thing, probably because this is a predominantly-Chinese neighbourhood, one would be hard pressed to find a stall suitable for Muslims/Malays. There is one here, the coffee shop right behind the mall, and I did drop by for the nasi campur once or twice or maybe more and yes, it was very much to my liking. Otherwise, you will have to go to the fast food franchise here and in the mall, you can find this one and an outlet of this one or you can go to the western restaurant there – I do not think it is certified halal but if I am not mistaken, it is pork-free.

Other than the aforementioned, the roti canai stall here is one of the few and it has been around like forever! Business must be good – I did see a lot of the non-Muslim customers having that – to sustain it for this long which is more than what I can say about the stall in front…

Chopsticks Malay stall

Many came and went – I think the roti canai stall once moved in front too but it has gone back to its original place, right behind this one.

I asked for the nasi lemak special (RM6.00)…

CHOPSTICKS nasi lemak 1

…that morning with specific instructions for the egg yolk to be runny unlike the ones in the photographs on display by the side of the stall.

The rice was not lemak, only very slightly and the salted fish was like it had been fried a long time ago…

CHOPSTICKS nasi lemak 2

The sambal was all right, thankfully as it did help make the rice more palatable to some extent and the fried chicken was…like fried chicken.

I guess it is all right, something one may want to have if he or she is here already or has to eat something halal (most of the aforementioned places are not open this early in the morning and the stalls at the hawker centre, Taman Selera Muhibah, open only at night) but what I had that morning was nowhere near the old lady’s at that same stall a long time ago. I wonder where she went.

CHOPSTICKS CHICKEN & RICE (2.312434, 111.845917) is located in the Delta Mall, Jalan Dr Wong Soon Kai (formerly Pedada) area of shops, facing the church along Lorong Taman Seduan 8, off Jalan Gambir.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

4 thoughts on “One of the few…”

  1. Perhaps in the future when I enjoy my nasi lemak I would request for special demands too like runny eggs. :p

    Actually, the traditional standard condiment for nasi lemak is hardboiled egg, half of it. Dunno why they are switching to one whole fried egg at many places now which, of course, means they will be making less profit.

  2. I don’t think that’s the type of rummy egg yolk you wish for. Rice not lemak, salted fish like fried for a long ago, fried chicken is just like fried chicken only and so my guess is you won’t make a come back that soon. All in all the saving grace is the sambal.

    I was o.k. with the egg, as long as the yolk is runny…but I was baffled as to why she broke the egg yolk prior to serving. Surely she did not need to do that to check?

    You’re right about me not wanting to go back again. The sambal was at best o.k. – there are worse and there are other better ones elsewhere. Honestly, I cannot understand how young girls like these can even think about going into the food business – they lack the passion, nothing like the people at Bandong. It comes across to me like these people will just cook for the sake of cooking and making a bit of money and close shop when they find they are not making any [profit, no love lost at all.

  3. Sounds like a disappointing nasi lemak experience. But it is good that you can request how you want your egg fried.

    Just o.k., not anything I would want to have again and thank goodness I saw the eggs in the photos so I quickly told the girl I did not want mine like that.

  4. I have been disappointed with people’s behaviour in my travels. It seems that unless there is someone there monitoring many to do the right thing, they just choose not to.

    Nobody seems to be doing it anymore. I did see at one place that day where a little girl, primary school age, I think, took up the gun, took her temperature and recorded everything in the record book…while the mum walked straight into the shop, did not bother about the SOP.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com