Unintentional…

We did not intend to go back here again that day but we saw a new eating place in the middle of the next block so we went there to check it out. It turned out to be a Malay or perhaps, a Melanau Muslim eatery but we were told that they did not have much of anything that day as for some reason or other, they were going to close at noon. In the end, we just walked over to this other place in the vicinity to see what else they had to offer at the second and third stalls there…

Coffee & Tea 2nd & 3rd stalls

…the first one being the kampua mee stall that I had checked out the other day.

My missus had the fresh fish tom yam hung ngang, the big bihun (RM8.90)…

Coffee & Tea fresh fish tom yam hung ngang 1

…from the second one, the one on the right, and yes, it was very nice, especially as it wasn’t Dory…

Coffee & Tea fresh fish tom yam hung ngang 2

I don’t know what fish that was – they said something like “hai lian” but as far as I know, if it had been tapah, a plate of noodles with that would set one back by RM12-15.00.

I ordered the pork leg rice (RM8.00)…

Coffee & Tea pork leg rice

…from the third stall, the one on the left in the above photograph but I wondered why I did not get any trotter. They were very generous with the green vegetables…

Coffee & Tea pork leg rice, vegetables

…though and there was mostly lean meat in what looked like pork belly…

Coffee & Tea pork leg rice, pork

…in the claypot.

Thankfully, it was very nice and I rather enjoyed it…but I wished they had given an egg with it – I missed that!

COFFEE & TEA (2.325932, 111.841566) is located at the junction of Jalan Teng Chin Hua and Jalan Ulu Sg Merah in the blocks of shops to the right of the traffic lights junction turning left into Lorong Sg Merah 2. if you are coming from town. On the other hand, if you are heading towards town, the blocks of shops are after St Teresa’s Catholic Church and the SIB Church on that same side of the road.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

5 thoughts on “Unintentional…”

  1. That is how I like my pork leg rice to be, mostly with lean meat.

    I don’t mind, anytime nicer than trotters, actually – all skin and tendon, no meat.

  2. I love fresh fishes in my noodle soup. Tom yum hung ngang, that would be something hard to find in Kuching.

    I am sure there are a lot of tom yam noodles in Kuching as well – what do they serve it with? Bihun?

  3. That’s very Malaysian of you to want an egg 😉 Hee, hee! The local influence has rubbed off on me and I too seem to think everything is better with an egg on top.

    I’ve a soft spot for stewed eggs – will definitely want one if I see any.

  4. You did not ask them why their pork leg rice has no trotter in it? I love pork trotter. You making me crave for it in the middle of the night, oh dear 😦

    I love stewed eggs too. My boys too. Our favourite 🙂

    Birds of the same feather, all of us. No, I did not ask as I did not mind. You’re craving kah? Yipee!!! 😀 😀 😀

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com