I don’t think so…

I was here the other day to tapao some of their very nice char siew paos for breakfast and while I was there, I decided to try the Foochow fried noodles that Andrew mentioned to me once.

The old guy at the counter looked very familiar and I could not for the dear life of me remember where I used to see him before. Was it at Thomson Corner when it was at the Catholic Centre next to St Rita’s Primary School and then, they moved here? Never mind! I just ordered what I wanted and took a seat and waited to be served.

It did not take too long and boy, the serving sure was huge!

Pahlawan Foochow fried noodles 1

This was the special (RM5.00)…and for that extra RM1.50 compared to the one I had here, it really was a steal as there were bits of meat, fish fillet, fish ball slices and lots of cuttlefish…

Pahlawan Foochow fried noodles 2

…but tastewise, I would say that the other place was very much nicer despite the lack of ingredients and I was wishing that they had added a little bit of green vegetables in this one…

Pahlawan Cafe Foochow fried noodles 3

This just goes to show that it is not a matter of adding a lot of extra ingredients but rather the skill of cooking the dish that will separate the men from the boys. I guess that is why we have tried cooking our own at home and we never could get it right simply because we have the tendency to add all the “best” stuff in the hope of enhancing the taste. At this point in time, therefore, the one that I had here still ranks as my Numero Uno!

I also had the teh-c special and I am afraid it paled in comparison to the one at that other place too and needless to say, it came nowhere near the very very nice one that I liked a lot here.

I saw a stall selling the celebrated Bintangor rojak and I just had to order a plate (RM5.00)…

Pahlawan Cafe Bintangor rojak 1

…to see if it was any good. Yes, the rojak sauce tasted similar – after all, they do sell it in bottles so anyone would be able to get hold of some but they could have been a little bit more generous with it, I thought.

They sure added a lot of the kacang tumbuk (crushed peanut) though so that was a bonus point in their favour and they had pineapples, yew char koi (Chinese crullers) and tauhu pok (tofu puffs) in it along with the usual mangkuang/sengkuang and cucumber…

Pahlawan Cafe Bintangor rojak 2

…but they did not have the sweet potato fritters that were in the original. Well, I am not really a fan of this kind of rojak…even though I would say it was good and if you are into this, you may want to drop by and give it a try. I, for one, would not go out of my way to come here and have it again.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

24 thoughts on “I don’t think so…”

  1. I totally agree on adding all the best ingredients yet the dish is still not the best. I used to do that too only to end up with one big not so delicious mess.

    Anything and everything we add will affect the taste and like people too, not everything is compatible.

  2. The noodle looks good but does not taste as good to you. So sad, all looks but no taste. Do you have any advice for them on how to improve the taste?

    If I can give them advice, I probably would have been able to dish out my own Foochow fried noodles as good as the good ones myself. For one thing, this one did not have the coveted wok-hei fragrance and the taste was different. You can go to 10 stalls here and at all 10, they will taste different – some are very very good, others are at best, ok. Maybe it’s the skill – one would need to have the touch. Even at the same stall/shop, when the father or the mother cooks or makes, it is nice. When the son or daughter takes over, it is not so great…like everyone’s favourite coffee place here – not the favourite anymore.

  3. Long time never eat rojak le, my house downstairs got sell rojak, when eat rojak, I usually only pick the yau za guai

    I only like the pineapples if they are sweet, ok with the tauhu pok and yes, the yew char koi’s nice with the rojak sauce…and I love the sweet potato fritters, but none in this one.

  4. I noticed that too. I was thinking it needed a little bit of colour.

    Exactly. That was what I thought too when they served it…and there was none of that very nice fragrance to sweep me off my feet.

  5. That’s a very big plate of Foochow noodles, lots of liew too, but can’t see any greens.. If it’s not very nice, then must be the gravy.. I only like pineapples and keropok in my rojak, hehe..

    Yes, the gravy is the main difference between one and the other. Ya, I think I’ve seen keropok in rojak over at your side, don’t think we have that here.

  6. Rojak for me please! ^^

    Haha. Presentation is not important. As long can fill up the tummies. Lol.

    Presentation sometimes makes a dish more appealing, and psychologically, we imagine it to taste better. 😀

  7. The food sure looks good with the sotong/cuttlefish inside the Foochow fried noodles.

    I still like the one in Sungai Merah, went there with my dad for breakfast before I headed back here. It was still very good, not a lot of ingredients, certainly not as much as yours, but it tastes good. Like you said, it’s all about the experience of the chef. 🙂

    Where in Sg Merah? Choon Seng, the coffee place…or the shop in the middle – I did hear somebody saying they’ve nice stuff at that one. I had a very very good one at the Sg Merah market, grumpy old lady…but the hawker stalls were right beside the chicken section and I was put off by the stench.

  8. Does the rojak paste come with a hint of shrimp paste?

    What rojak paste had no shrimp paste? It is the basis of any rojak sauce – I think they call it otak udang, from Penang! I used to make my own – otak udang, calamansi lime juice, gula apong, kacang tembuk, pounded chili – very nice. Now they add toasted sesame seeds as well, I think. This Bintangor rojak people have the right combination – very nice, their rojak sauce…but at times, a little too sweet. Can kurangkan the gula.

  9. Wish the plate of rojak is in front of me now, hehe..

    Can get easily in Singapore, much nicer some more, I’m sure.

  10. Never had noodles of my heritage before. I’m not fond of the sweet type of rojak though but love Indian rojak.

    Same here. And I love pasembur too – none here…but we have a variation that they call Indian rojak. To me, it is more like the Indonesian gado gado. Nice too! I’d have that anytime instead of this one.

  11. We were taken for lunch next to the MAS office many years ago aircond cafe, very yummy foochow Mee n other dishes too. Not sure if still around…..

    Probably Y2K, their fried mee among the best in town. Better if buy home…the noodles would have absorbed the flavours, very very nice!

  12. There’s only one place I know of over here which sells rojak. This is very recent and, somehow, and they substituted apples for mengkwang. Not quite the same, but quite nice nonetheless.

    In Penang, they give you rojak sauce for virtually everything…or koi (yam cake), chee cheong fan. Easy to get water chestnuts there? Cheap? Hard to find here, and expensive. Would be a great substitute for the sengkuang/mangkuang. May be nicer even.

    1. I’ve not seen fresh water chestnuts; only ever used the canned ones.

      I see. I thought they came from temperate countries – maybe they’re from China.

  13. I have never come across fried noodles with cuttlefish. Looks good though. Yeah, I love rojak with generous amount of rojak paste & crushed peanuts.

    I can’t remember, may have had cuttlefish in the fried mee once or twice before. I prefer the white ones, the squids – not crazy about these brown ones.

  14. Maybe there is a secret ingredient to the noodles and that’s why it is hard to replicate?

    Not really. I’ve watched them cooking…at one nice place. Looked so simple but when I tried at home, not so nice. The thing is you see them adding this and that, all agak agak one… That is the problem, I think. We agak agak ourselves, not chun!!!

  15. maybe it would help if they created more depth and dimension to their gravy for the noodles … a nice stock with pork liver in it 😀

    Some greens would be nice for a little bit of colour. Must not add sliced chili though…as it would affect the taste. Liver would be good too and char siew for a bit of red.

  16. I miss Rojak Kassim. hehe.

    He’s in Kuching – somewhere in the Palm Road, Thomson Corner area, married some young girl so the family here has broken all ties with him – that’s what I heard. Here, my friend’s photo on Facebook, just three days ago…
    Rojak Kassim

  17. I suspect it is the wok. The wok that the hawkers use are usually much more well seasoned and have seen a lot of action, so the flavours have been absorbed by the wok.

    Probably. I was going to the toilet…and somebody opened the door and bumped into me – it was an Indian guy. I hope he was the helper, not the cook…or that could be the reason like how everywhere in KL, the Banglas are doing the cooking…or in Singapore, the Chinese nationals and everything isn’t so nice anymore.

  18. I love fried noodle soup on a rainy morning. Too hot to handle, can burn the tongue if eaten in haste. lol, of course Kuching one cannot compare to Sibu’s

    Try Me Kong, opposite Heritage. More expensive but more ingredients added, better than many here. Actually they have pretty good ones here and there in Kuching – the city is infested with Foochows, many have moved there.

  19. Wah rojak rojak, I want! Long time never have rojak already, they say pregnant lady better don’t eat wo, hmm…

    No pineapples allowed, that I know, dunno about the other things. No worries, very soon…very soon. 😀

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

