Black or white…

Somebody told me once that there is a difference between char kway teow (fried flat rice noodles) in KL and the ones in Penang. Those in KL are blacker/darker (khak or) while Penang char kway teow is lighter/whiter (khak pek). There is probably some truth in this as I had this plate of char kway teow the other day…

Sambal petai fried kway teow 1

…and I found out that the guy was from Selangor.

I think I did mention in an earlier post that there was a new stall at this place, so I decided to drop by and try one of the many items he had on his menu.

This was supposed to be sambal petai fried noodles…but the man said that it would be nicer with kway teow, so I agreed to the switch.

It was definitely very dark but there was hardly any sambal taste at all and I think there were two petai seeds, split into halves…

Sambal petai fried kway teow 2

Thankfully, it tasted pretty good with the clams, prawns and all – something like KL Hokkien mee which incidentally was on the menu too. Maybe I should try that next time…