4:55…

Nope, it wasn’t 4:55…but 3:16, 3:16 KOPITIAM to be exact…

3:16 Kopitiam, Sibu

Clare sent me a message saying that her mum told her about this guy who has just come back from Singapore and was working as a chef on one of those luxury cruises when he was there…and he has opened a stall at this coffee shop which is actually owned by the same proprietor as Manna at Wisma Sanyan and The Ark at the Sibu Esplanade.

Wasting no time at all, my missus and I headed to the place the very next day. It was not difficult to find his stall as only three were open, one a vegetarian stall…and who could have missed it when he has chosen to give it a catchy and impressive name as “Asian Flavours”? However, there were only two options to choose from. Maybe they have just started and have yet to add more selections to their menu…and hopefully, that is the case for I must say that just those two would hardly qualify as being “Asian”.

My missus had the Singapore fried Hokkien mee…

Asian Flavours' Singapore fried Hokkien mee 1

…that tasted quite good. I tried a bit and quite liked the taste but I felt it was a bit too wet.

I used to have that when I was in Singapore in the 70’s and they would serve/wrap the noodles in some kind of brown-coloured dried palm leaves…and I remember there wasn’t that much gravy, with a mixture of yellow noodles and kway teow (flat rice noodles), or was it  with mihun instead of the lau-shu fun (rat’s tail)..and all the prawns and sotong…

Asian Flavours' Singapore fried Hokkien mee 2

This costs RM6.00 a plate but I guess the generous use of prawns and sotong kind of explains the inflated price.

I had the Vietnamese beef noodles (RM5.00)…

Asian Flavours' Vietnamese beef noodles 1

…and though it tasted all right, I wouldn’t think I would go all the way back there to have that again.

Asian Flavours' Vietnamese beef noodles 2

Between the two, I prefer my missus’ Singapore fried Hokkien noodles despite it being more expensive and I think if I ever drop by the place again, I would probably choose that instead…