I saw you…

I saw the beef noodles stall that day when I dropped by here for the so-called Penang char kway teow and I made up my mind right there and then that I would come back to give it a try.

That morning, I was out and about real early as the previous day, my old car was making noise everytime I turned right. It was fine when I turned left so I wanted to get to the workshop early and be first in line. However, I noticed that the car was perfectly all right, not a sound anymore and the workshop guy did tell me before that unless they could detect the problem, they would not be able to do anything so they would insist on hearing the noise themselves.

Well, since I was already out of the house, I decided to go to the aforementioned coffee shop and try the beef noodles (RM10.00)…

June Cafe beef noodles

Actually, a regular bowl costs RM6.00 but you have to add RM2.00 for extra tripe and another RM2.00 for extra tendon.

I had that with yellow noodles…

June Cafe beef soup with yellow noodles

…the way I would like it. I did not ask so I am not sure if one can choose to have it with kway teow or bihun or not.

I would say it was nice but I thought the soup…

June Cafe beef noodles, cloudy soup

…was kind of cloudy, not all that clear and when somebody had ordered so much, the guy could have been a bit more generous with his very nice chili dip. There was so little of it, probably enough for a regular bowl so with all the extras, I think that would call for double the amount.

I would not go out of my way to come here and eat this but yes, it is an option if I so happen to be around there. My favourite is still the one here and other than that one, the one here and also here as well as the one here are all pretty good – they all serve the same beef noodles in clear soup, not the Taiwanese nor the Vietnamese versions, just the one we grew up eating in our younger days, the one we know and love so well.

六月饮食坊 JUNE CAFE (2.292649, 111.834878) is located at No. 16, Lorong 3541, Lorong Chew Siik Hiong 7, formerly Weiison Corner directly opposite/right across the road from Kopitiam Fantasy.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

7 thoughts on “I saw you…”

  1. Nice and big bowl of beef soup. Over here one can ask for either bihun, kway teow or noodles. Up to your choice, there is no rule to it. For me, I prefer kway teow. By the way, did they put “too kua”. If so, the soup will be a bit cloudy.

    No, no too kua. That day I cooked my Aussie wagyu, soup and it was VERY cloudy – all the flotsam & jetsam came out of the meat, had to sieve and throw away – maybe too fat, I don’t know. Even after sieving it for a long time, it was still cloudy but wasn’t too bad. Tasted great though.
    The boss here
    https://suituapui.wordpress.com/2019/05/07/out-of-control/
    once told me that he would painstakingly sieve the soup while simmering the pork bones for the stock – that is why his soup is so clear.

  2. Oh wow, full to the brim. Beef lover would enjoy it very much. Unfortunately I am not into beef that much, not to mention the tripe and tendon. Hehe. If me, I will just go for the normal one, all beef, no internal organ. Lol.

    Same as my girl. She does not eat tendon and the tripe puts her off – says it looks like a caterpillar! LOL!!!

  3. That is really a lot. Too bad I cannot eat beef. Still if I am into beef, this will be a feast. 😀

    Yes, I’ve Chinese friends who do not eat beef…and then of course, there are the Indian ones.

  4. ooo, i guess you’re a fan of tripe and tendon. personally for me, i like chicken offal but not beef offal 🙂

    Yes, I am but they’re not always available…or they will just give a few token strips only. I’m not into chicken so much.

  5. I can see the tendons and tripe.. I prefer those to the meat… Yeah, he should have given you more soup and cili dip! 🙂

    Especially when I was paying more for all the extras, how to eat no cili. Tsk! Tsk!

  6. I still do not know how does tendon or tripe look like. Lol.

    You can see them very clearly in the photo – tripe is white, tendon is translucent and meat is black.

  7. They make a similar soup in hubby’s home country, Venezuela. I am not a fan of tripe though so never grew fond of it.

    Oh? Your handsome hubby’s from Venezuela? They have all the world’s most beautiful women there. LOL!!! Tripe is quite tasteless – it will depend on the stock for the soup, beef and beef bones…or some use pork bones to make the stock.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com