No hurry…

I was here…

Mother Cafe

…a few times before even when it was under a different name. After it changed its name, I did drop by once and tried something from the second stall and another time, from the kampua mee stall and though all that we had were pretty all right, we certainly were in no hurry to go back for more.

Somebody was telling me something about the second stall and I can’t, for the dear life of me, remember what it was. Anyway, since I was going past the coffee shop the other day, I decided to drop by and see. Perhaps I might spot something that would ring the bell.

Unfortunately, it was not open – probably it was too early in the morning or they were still having their Chinese New Year break. In the end, I decided to go for the Foochow fried noodles (RM4.00)…

Foochow fried noodles

…from the last stall in the row.

It sure looked great and that got my hopes up high but unfortunately, it did not have that much coveted wok hei fragrance so like most of the things that we had tried there, I sure would not be rushing back for more. I remember trying the one here at the other end of that same block of shops and I quite liked it and the one I had at the coffee shop opposite, though I did not think it would rank among the best in town, wasn’t too bad either.

MOTHER CAFE (2.310920, 111.831572) is the last shop in the block on your left along Jalan Dewan Suarah if you are entering from Jalan Melur, the shop right behind the Sibu Civic Centre (Dewan Suarah).

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

5 thoughts on “No hurry…”

  1. Fried noodles, kway tiaw or bihun without ‘wok hei’ is something I don’t like. I love the charred smell fragrance. Your plate of Foochow fried noodles looks good though.

    Yes, I thought so too when it was served.

  2. I hardly ventured to that part for food. RM4 for that big portion of Foochow noodle is cheap. If it has that fragrant wok hei, it would be even more enjoyable.

    No worries! Lots of other shops in that area, lots of options to pick and choose. You don’t know what you missed! I so love the chicken pie and coconut tart at Aroma Bakery here…and there are so many shops, lots of interesting things to buy and I feel the wet market is nicer than the one at Rejang Park. Rejang Park is SO CONGESTED every morning – I dread going there now!

  3. I must have the “wok hei” when eating out or else it just feels flat 😦

    You can’t get that at the mamak and Malay shops, I’m sure…especially where they use the regular gas cooker to cook – the fire is simply not big enough for the wok hei fragrance.

  4. I like those fat Foochow fried noodles – they remind me of udon.

    They’re alkaline free. Wait a bit longer and they will soak in all the gravy and become ever fatter. LOL!!!

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com