Mother’s Day…

Last Sunday was the second Mother’s Day after my mum left us in March last year and like what we did last year, we bought some flowers…

Flowers

…and stopped by my parents’ resting place…

Resting place

…on the way to my girl’s school in the jungle, specially to wish her a Happy Mother’s Day.

That was why we did not have an early lunch before leaving home like what we would usually do. Instead, we stopped by this place in Selangau for a bite to eat before proceeding to my girl’s school, another half an hour or more away.

The sea cucumber soup was very nice…

Sea cucumber soup

…and so was the fried cangkok manis with egg…

Fried cangkok manis with egg

We also ordered the sweet and sour or chio/ikan bawal hitam (black pomfret)…

Sweet & sour fish

…and got a big one and yes, we liked it a lot too.

The total for the food plus the rice and drinks came up to RM55.20 (but the lady waived the 20 sen) which I would say is not all that cheap but the fish alone was already RM30.00…and I do wish they would do away with all those plastic plates and bowls. Still, what was most important that we enjoyed our lunch before we went on our way.

HUA KEE SEAFOOD & CAFE (2.523351, 112.325657) is located in Selangau Bazaar among the shops facing the SHELL station, a few doors away from the District Education Office.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

8 thoughts on “Mother’s Day…”

  1. These are the kind of dishes I like and don’t mind to have every now and then. Or chio cost RM26-28/kg over here. All things considered, I think the price is reasonable.

    It is. That would be almost a kg, so over RM20 for one that size. It is to be expected that things would be more expensive at these inland towns as they get everything sent from the main towns – the fish probably came from Mukah…or Sibu or worse, Bintulu.

  2. I love the dishes. Sea cucumber soup. Slurp.

    All good, just not fond of the plastic plates and bowls.

  3. My favorite would be the sweet and sour pomfret. It is heart warming that your late mum is much loved and remembered on Mother’s Day.

    We do not observe Ching Ming but we would not miss All Souls’ Day, Mother’s Day and of course, her birthday and the anniversary of her passing.

  4. Pomfret is one of my favourite fishes, i like sea cucumber too, which some may not like as they find it too slimy

    You’d be lucky if you can find any in the soup, so expensive these days especially after word went round that it is packed with collagen.

  5. The sea cucumber soup looks delicious. I believe I will love it a lot. It is not cheap also.

    It is usually something like sharks’ fins soup just that instead of the offensive stuff, they add sea cucumber, just don’t expect a lot of that, if any at all, since it is so very expensive. That is why it is not expensive, not at all.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com