If you like it…

I was here once with my ex-students and I thought what they dished out for us that night was pretty good so last Monday evening, I suggested dropping by this place…

Siong Kee Restaurant

…to celebrate my missus’ birthday and see if they liked it here.

We went to this bakery

From C & C Gallery

…to buy a cake and brought it along, strawberry…

Strawberry cake

…and it was really very nice – I sure would not mind getting the cakes from there in future.

Of course, we must have the fried mee sua (longevity noodles) with the golden eggs (RM25.00)…

Mee sua and golden eggs

…which was nice but I sure would not mind a smaller serving – this one looked like it was big enough for a party of 10. If we just had that, once we were through, we would be too full to have anything else.

I had this steamed fish with the blended chili on top (RM49.50)…

Steamed ikan sultan

…the previous time I was here so I asked for that again. Yes, everybody liked it, my girl especially – she sure had her fair share of it.

Another dish that I had that time was their crispy pata or what we call here, the Philippine pork leg (RM60.00)…

Philippine pork leg

…which was good but by the time it was served, everyone was already quite full plus we also had the cake to start things off so in the end, we asked for most of it to be packed for us to take home.

I ordered the small serving of their salted egg sotong/squid (RM16.00)…

Salted egg sotong

…which would have been great but I think the salted egg used was kind of salty so personally, I felt it would be nice if we had it with rice but we were not having any that night.

The brinjal with salted fish, small (RM14.00)…

Brinjal with salted fish

…was my girl’s favourite but then again, she loves brinjal, never mind how it is done.

I would say we had a delightful dinner and a great time chatting with my brother-in-law and his wife – no, the daughter, my niece – the one working in Singapore, did not come back for this. The total, inclusive of drinks, came up to RM166.90 – actually, I was expecting it to be a lot more than that as this is more than one of those small chu char (cook & fry) places but as it turned out, it does look like what they serve here would be around that same price range or maybe just a little bit more.

SIONG KEE RESTAURANT (2.293215, 111.836281) is located at No. 15, Lorong Chiew Siik Hiong 1 in the Fortune Commercial Centre, behind the Rejang Medical Centre. It is at the corner opposite Lok Ming Yuen Cafe, behind which is Sushi Tie, the Japanese Restaurant and C & C GALLERY is located at Lot 62 at the far end of the block of shops right beside Delta Mall at Pusat Pedada, to the right of the mall if you are facing its back entrance.