Somewhere down the road…

I had to send my girl every morning to her meetings and one morning, I decided to stop by this food court…

Eco Delite Food Court

…somewhere along the road leading to the secondary school, the meeting place.

We’ve been here a few times before and yes, we did enjoy some of the stuff we had but we have not gone back for a while now. That morning, only the two food courts were open and a branch of the dim sum place but only this one seemed to be enjoying brisk business so I went to have a look at what they had in store.

They had a makeshift stall…

Eco Delite Food Court, stall

…selling all kinds of buns (and curry puffs too)…

Eco Delite Food Court, buns and puffs

…and some of these kuihs…

Eco Delite Food Court, kuihs

…and packets of nasi lemak as well. They did not have that before on our previous visits or maybe they only have it early in the morning for breakfast, I wouldn’t know – I was never here this early.

I tried the steamed meat pao (RM2.00)…

Eco Delite Food Court, bak pao

…and it was quite good – I like paos with egg in it but I thought the char siew pao (RM2.50)…

Eco Delite Food Court, char siew pao

…was nicer and it also had egg in it, something rather unusual for these char siew buns.

There was a young girl there at that same time (not the one in the above photograph) and for reasons unknown, she kept poking at the paos on display in a tray. The Iban lady was quite pissed off and gave her a piece of her mind, “You cucuk cucuk, nanti orang tak mau beli lagi lah!!!” I must say there is a lot of truth in what she said – in fact, I was glad that my orders came from those in the steamer…not from the tray and I really cannot understand why people do that – many will squeeze the fruits and vegetables and may or may not buy and spoil them. Sometimes we find bruises, for instance, in tomatoes – obviously, somebody has got to them before we do. Tsk! Tsk!

I also ordered the lor mai kai (RM4.50)…

Eco Delite Food Court, lor mai kai 1

…which was good as well…

Eco Delite Food Court, lor mai kai 2

…but at that price, I probably would not want to go for it again. I wouldn’t say it was anything that would get me coming back for more.

The coffee (RM1.60)…

Eco Delite Food Court, kopi-o-peng & lor mai kai

…was good and cheaper than a number of places around town.

I don’t know when I will be going back there again as we seldom frequent that part of town, in the other direction, unless there is a reason for us to do so.

ECO-DELITE FOOD COURT (2.330846, 111.855645) is located at the shops on your left along Jalan Ulu Sg Merah, a short distance from the roundabout if you are coming along Jalan Ling Kai Cheng and take the right turn from there.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

9 thoughts on “Somewhere down the road…”

  1. I love paos with egg in it too and I prefer char siew paos to steamed meat paos. As for lor mai kai and with that price I can have nice bowl of kolo mee.

    Here, we can have TWO plates of kampua mee for that kind of money. It did not sweep me off my feet, not something I would be running back for more and much less so when it is that expensive. Wouldn’t mind going for it, even at that price, sometimes…if it had been really nice.

  2. I thought the lo mai kai looked good. Compact.

    I always love char siew pau with egg in it. Yum yum. But paus no longer cheap. Hahaha.

    I thought RM2-2.50 is o.k. Don’t mind buying once in a while, steam to heat up in the morning for breakfast.

  3. I love lor mai kai, and that one looks good even if, as you say, expensive.

    I like it a little oily with a stronger taste of the soy sauce and five spice powder from the stewed meat used in the making.

  4. You’re right, I haven’t seen any cha siu pao with egg in it either. That coffee at the end looks really good!

    The local coffee at most coffee shops here would be good, heaps nicer than the ones over at your side.

  5. I will end up buying the bun if I were there…

    I didn’t buy any. Guess I am not into bread but I do love sandwiches.

  6. Oh yes, I hate it when people poke and prod food/produce on the shelves without sparing thought that they are ruining the products.

    Yes, I would have scolded if the lady manning the stall did not say anything. So kurang ajar!

  7. My late dad used to be a durian vendor and he also hates those customers keep on pressing the durian flesh to test it, inconsiderate lah and spoil the food. He will tell those customers off.

    I love meat paus with eggs inside too. Here paus are not cheap. One big pau (pork) costs S$2.30. Between Lor Mai Kai and Fan Choy, usually I will choose Lor Mai Kai.

    Don’t convert, everything is cheap there, it seems. No idea what fan choy is.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com