These days…

So what have we been up to these days? Nothing much really, I would say – just the usual routine, a little bit of this and a little bit of that.

My girl made these gluten-free cheese and almond flour cookies…

Gluten-free cookies

…which turned out very nice but they were not sweet – in fact, they were more on the salty side and she used olive oil following the recipe that she had at hand. I wonder if it would be the same if she had used butter instead as I do prefer its special fragrance and taste.

These deep fried or koi (Chinese steamed yam cake)…

Or koi

…that my missus bought from the Kanowit ladies here were very nice. I could feel the texture of the yam in it – many around here are kind of wobbly and wriggly, the result of too much flour and not enough yam so I would steer clear of those.

She also bought these Nestum-coated mochi with peanut butter filling

Nestum-coated peanut butter mochi

…from the shop round the corner from our house and of course, I was delighted. I am not a fan of mochi but I love these. In the past, they would only get them from Sarikei on Saturdays but for a long while now, they had not done so and it wasn’t a Saturday that day when my missus dropped by there. Of course she wasted no time at all in grabbing a pack for me knowing how much I enjoy them.

We did drop by here that evening for a quick dinner for the simple reason that it is near my house and the guy opens his shop quite early – before 6.00 p.m. The ladies said they were still quite full from our lunch that day so my girl just had their Sarawak laksa (RM5.50)…

Colourful Cafe Sarawak laksa

…and the mum had the fried noodles (RM4.50)…

Colourful Cafe fried noodles

I ordered this bowl of beef noodles (RM6.00)…

Colourful Cafe beef noodles

…with a special request for all the taugeh (bean sprouts) to be omitted as I always feel that it would affect the taste of the soup in some way.

I thought we could share these honey chicken wings (RM9.80)…

Colourful Cafe honey chicken wings

…as well but they said what they had individually would be enough and in the end, I had to finish all three myself.

What about all of you? Been up to anything exciting lately?

COLOURFUL CAFE (2.316673, 111.837539) is located in the Renew4U building at the junction of Brooke Drive and Lorong Kwong Ann 8, across the road from the Church of Jesus  Christ of the Latter Day Saints.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

5 thoughts on “These days…”

  1. Nothing exciting going on actually, day in day out is the same. Now with the add on of the hot and hazy weather, I would rather stay at home than venturing out. The deep fried or koi would be nice to go with a cup of kopi kaw kaw.

    Yes, the haze is back!!! Every morning when I wake up, the moment I step outside, I would choke on the smoke. Terrible!

  2. the homemade cookies look lovely – i like their golden-brown colour, and they look like they’re nicely crunchy! their shape is also interesting – cool mould!

    Yes, they’re nice and crunchy alright…and salty. Yes, yes, I know…but fat people like sweet things – that is why they are so sweet. LOL!!! Crescent-shaped, very patriotic.

  3. Your girl’s cookies look lovely! I can never bake such cookies where you have to cut them with a mould. I like the plonk plonk type. LOL!

    She takes after her mum – their work is always very dainty…not me! My attitude is – never mind if it does not look nice, as long as it tastes nice. LOL!!!

  4. I like the sound of those cookies. I’ve lost my sweet tooth as I’ve aged.

    I’m ok with sweet cookies but not too sweet especially some of those with cream, not into Oreo’s for example – it seems to be the favourite of many…and I’ve a soft spot for the ones with the very nice buttery fragrance.

  5. Healthy biscuits there your girl made… no butter, not sweet… good for us seniors! LOL… The mochi your missus bought looks very nice too!

    Yes, I saw the mochi at the shop again yesterday so I grabbed two packs to enjoy – love them do much! As for the cookies, I don’t mind it a little bit sweet and latest articles online say butter is good, not margarine.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com