Reason to celebrate…

I have not been here…

Mum's

since I don’t remember when but obviously, judging from the crowd there night after night, it is the favourite of many.

Well, it was my paternal cousin’s birthday last Wednesday but he called me the following morning, Thursday, to invite me to dinner that night there as this place has its weekly day off on Wednesdays so there we were that night, my missus and I and my sister and all in his immediate family.

Yes, as always, the place was packed but even so, the dishes came fast and furious. We had the kiam sor hay kiu (salty crusty prawn balls)…

Salty crusty prawn balls

…and the butter boneless chicken…

Butter boneless chicken

…and the salad sotong

Salad sotong

…or what they call the batter-coated deep fried squid, served with mayonnaise here.

There was also the hot plate venison…

Hot plate deer meat

…and for our vegetable dishes, we had the midin (wild jungle fern)…

Midin

…and the cangkuk manis

Pork leg cangkuk manis

…or rather, that was their braised pork leg served on a bed of cangkuk manis and needless to say, I feasted on the former, not the latter. LOL!!!

I loved the steamed fish head too…

Steamed fish

…but by the time it was served, I was already bursting at the seams. The servings were huge! The dinner, inclusive of Foochow tofu soup…and rice and drinks for ten people, came up to a little over RM200.00.

Thank you so much, Ah Siong, for the invitation and once again, Happy Birthday, God bless always and may all your wishes come true. Cheers!!!

MUM’s is located along Lorong Tunku Osman 1, the first shoplot in the block in front of the SM Methodist side entrance/exit, right beside Y2K Cafe (2.294220, 111.825753) which is the shop next door, to the left.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

11 thoughts on “Reason to celebrate…”

  1. Happy belated birthday to your cousin. So sumptuous birthday dinner, everything looked delicious. I would enjoy the dishes very much.

    Thank you. So very crowded. Dishes were good but do not stand out, pretty much like most every place else but rather cheap.

  2. Happy Blessed Birthday to your cousin… Drooling over all those dishes…

    Thank you. Around SGD70 for so many dishes plus rice & drinks for 10 people, pretty good price, eh?

  3. RM200+ for 6 yummy dishes for 10 pax is very very cheap and all the servings are huge especially the two vegetable dishes. They look so good and I can have them all to myself.

    8 dishes altogether, 7 in the photographs and I did not take one of the soup. It was good, standard was something like those stalls at Batu Lintang in Kuching, not too sure how much one would need to fork out there for so many dishes for so many people.

  4. food here looks glorious – a bit on the sinful stuff, with so much fried and fatty-fleshy stuff, cooked with cheese and served with mayo, but i certainly won’t complain! 😀

    Like what they always say, Sean, forbidden fruit is sweeter! Wink! Wink! LOL!!!

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com