I don’t wanna waste what’s left…

Well, as far as possible, I would not want to waste anything in the fridge or in the pantry but at times, if it is way past the expiry date, I would have no choice but to throw it away. Other than that, I also cannot stand seeing things sitting there for too long – I would want to take and use as soon as possible and that way, the things will not go bad and get thrown away plus some things are best used fresh, not after they have been kept for sometime.

That morning, I took what was left of the sago vermicelli that I used to cook the curry laksa for my girl. No, I did not soak it for an hour this time around according to the instructions on the packet – I just boiled some water and put the noodles in till soft enough, just like cooking instant noodles. Then I drained it and rinsed it well…

Sago vermicelli

…to remove whatever excess starch their might be so the strands would not stick together.

I also had some prawns and taugeh (bean sprouts)…

Prawns and bean sprouts

…left so I decided to use those to fry the vermicelli, char kway teow (fried flat rice noodles) style.

This were the other ingredients…

Other ingredients

…that I used – some garlic, finely chopped, chopped spring onions from my garden, two eggs, my missus’ pounded chili (and garlic), soy sauce and pepper. That’s the beauty of Chinese cooking – it’s very simple and requires minimal ingredients and it tastes great.

I fried the garlic till golden brown in a bit of oil before adding a teaspoon of the pounded chili and the prawns. Once cooked, I added the vermicelli to which I had added a bit of soy sauce and pepper and tossed before hand. Then I broke the eggs into the wok and mixed everything together and lastly, in went the spring onions (saving a bit for garnishing later) and the taugeh. I do not like the taugeh overcooked so while it was still nice and crunchy, I turned off the heat and dished everything out of the wok and served…

Fried vermicelli 1

…with a sprinkling of spring onions on top.

Yes, it was nice…

Fried vermicelli 2

…but I do feel that it would be nicer with the smoother and softer  kway teow. I still have a bit of the prawns and taugeh left so perhaps, I shall buy some kway teow and fry this coming Friday for my girl to enjoy when she comes home from her school in the jungle…with her gluten-free soy sauce, of course!