You can look…

…but mustn’t touch!

The other day, I got a message via Messenger on Facebook from my dear friend, the ever sweet and gorgeous Mary, asking me if I was at home. I said yes, I was but I am not accepting anything as I am now on a low carb, low sugar, low salt, low everything diet.

However, she insisted on dropping by to give me this…

…that her girl, Axia, had made.

Wool bread!!! Everyone is making it, it seems. I see the photographs all over Facebook like at one time when the pandemic just broke out and everyone was forced to stay home, there were snapshots of penyeram of all shapes and sizes in shades of brown and even, black!

Well, for the uninitiated, wool bread is just a simple milk bread and you can fill it with sweet or savoury fillings. The options are endless and you can definitely get creative with it. The name wool bread was given to this bread because of the design. People think it looks like spool or wool or yarn – hence the name wool bread!

The one that Axia…

…made had garlic filling and boy, the fragrance filled the whole house the moment I took it inside. If I am not wrong, it was that garlic and cheese filling…

…that one would get with those currently very popular Korean buns

Much as I would love to, I had to refrain from feasting on the lovely soft and fluffy bread so I just nibbled a bit while I watched the ladies in the house enjoying it to their hearts’ content.

Thank you so much, Mary and to you too, Axia!

In case anybody is interested, you can place an order for this stunning fresh mango cake with edible carnations from Axia…

…for Mother’s Day and you will get this complimentary Thai seafood salad…

…for your dinner that day. You can contact them via +6013-899 6868 to order and/or for further details on or before the 5th of May.

Lead me not into temptation for much as I would love to grab one to indulge in, I’m afraid I can only look but mustn’t touch. There are no sugar-free cakes, are there?

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

8 thoughts on “You can look…”

  1. Wool bread with garlic and cheese fillings, boy, I will definitely like it like how I love garlic bread too. Temptation is great seeing the wool bread. Guess eat in moderation will not cause great harm to you.

    A slice is fine, spaced far apart…not a few slices at one go. At the most, the blood sugar level will go up a bit but will return to normal when not eating sweet things. Must not go out of control, serious cases need insulin injections, so troublesome.

  2. Wow.. you have self control there! I surely will taste a bite or two at least… I have gained 2-3 kg… yes, I also must watch out my weight gain!

    Good grief!!! I have lost weight ever since I went on this low-everything diet. That was the first thing my friend asked me when she sent over the bread – why I have slimmed down!

  3. That truly is some self control! I’ve never heard of wool bread, but this looks fantastic – you can’t go wrong with garlic and cheese! 🙂

    Seems to be the current craze here, the trend and yes, it is very nice.

  4. My first thought – You can look…….BUT CANNOT EAT! I was right! Well my commiserations to you as I am also on low everything at the moment. Started on Sunday and utterly miserable.

    Oh? You too??? Oh dear!!! I can imagine how miserable that is!!! So many things that I used to enjoy but I cannot indulge in them anymore. So sad!

  5. Indulge now…repent later. Ok just kidding.

    Perhaps you can have more workout. Weight training which will help you in burning a lot of calories.

    At my age, this is pretty much later, as you put it. You young people should take note, make sure you do not have to repent when the time comes, all that junk food young people go for these days..

  6. a low carb, low sugar, low salt, low everything diet. Wow that must be hard? what can you eat?

    Not much. I guess I’ll get used to it eventually, eating just a bit.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com