Family is family…

My paternal aunt and cousins took my brother out to dinner just before he left town to go back to New Zealand and they invited my missus and me to come along too. So there we were that night, all in the family, at their favourite place in town.

That place sure is mighty popular as I heard that when they called to make a table reservation, they were told that there would not be one available till 7.30 p.m. When we got there, I noticed that it wasn’t exactly full – there were a few vacant tables, the smaller ones so my guess was all the big ones were booked and were not available earlier that evening.

I thought it was bright enough and besides, the photographs didn’t turn out too badly on our previous visit so I guess I was not paying too much attention and simply clicked away. It turned out that most of the photographs did not turn out well including the one I took of the fish head curry that was served first or maybe it was asam fish head as it did not quite look like curry. It was very nice though and I rather enjoyed it…and the beef was very good as well.

The snapshots of the prawn balls…

Prawns

…and the sotong (squid)…

Sotong

…came out fine and the one of the midin (wild jungle fern)…

Midin

…doesn’t look too bad either.

The latter would have been the sole vegetable dish that evening had it not been for the bed of cangkuk manis in the stewed pork leg…

Pork leg

…dish. In my opinion, this was definitely my favourite – the very tender meat and melt-in-the-mouth layers of fat were to die for, really!

There was a soup as well, probably sea cucumber so that would mean that the 10 of us had 7 dishes altogether, with rice, thank you so much to my aunt and cousins for the treat. I did not ask them how much the total came up to but one thing’s for sure, the service was very good and efficient and the dishes came out fast and furious and in addition to all that, I must say that the people were very nice – as we were leaving, they were all smiles and said thank you, please come again. Well, I certainly would not mind doing that…especially for the pork leg! Yum yummm!!! LOL!!!

MUM’s is located along Lorong Tunku Osman 1, the first shoplot in the block in front of the SM Methodist side entrance/exit, right beside Y2K Cafe (2.294220, 111.825753) which is the shop next door, to the left.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

3 thoughts on “Family is family…”

  1. Definitely a very nice get-together as family. Great food and love them heaps especially both the greens. So far, this is the first time I came across stewed pork served in a bed of cangkuk manis.

    I can’t say I like the two together like that but it seems that a lot of people love it this way – if I am not wrong, this is one of their signature dishes. Very popular!

  2. since they can’t find midin in NZ, this might be your bro’s last taste of midin for quite awhile, yeah 🙂

    Lots of ferns there but either they do not know which the edible ones are…or they are all not edible.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com