Gotta have it…

Actually we planned to go some place else that day, one that is conveniently located near the house, a stone’s throw away but it was closed! The sign said that they had decided to take the day off and I really hate it when people do that out of the blue without letting the customers know in advance. After all, they have their Facebook page so there is no reason why they cannot be a bit more gracious and considerate and announce it there…especially when they see it fitting to post all kinds of stuff there.

Of course, since we could not have our lunch there, we headed straight to where else, if not the award-winning place in town even though it is on the other side of town. My brother had only a few days here and I, for one, would think that he gotta drop by here and have a sample of some of the culinary delights on their menu before heading back to the Land of the Hobbits, New Zealand.

I ordered the Payung rojak, small (RM10.00)…

Payung rojak
*Archive photo*

…for him to try but I forgot to snap a photograph of it when it was served so I have picked one from my archives for use in this post.

We also had the pomelo salad (RM8.00)…

Pomelo salad

…and yes, he enjoyed this and the rojak as well very much. Of course he was intrigued by some of the things in the dishes, things that he had never had before like the buah kedondong leaves or the bunga kantan petals and yes, he liked them very much.

He tried the green curry chicken (RM16.00 with rice)…

Green curry chicken

…and instantly declared that it was very nice and we also had the otak-otak fish (RM13.00 with rice)…

Otak fish

…and the belimbing prawns (RM17.00 with rice)…

Belimbing prawns

…thank you so much, Peter, for specially cooking it yourself and for the triple serving for the price of one and thanks also for the fresh coconut water (thanks, Peng, for cutting the fruits for us) with bits of the lovely soft flesh on the house!

We also shared the durian ice cream for dessert and all in all, it was pretty obvious that my brother enjoyed our lunch that day very much. For someone who has been living abroad most of his life, he particularly liked how no msg is used in the cooking and he loved the fragrances and tastes of all the exotic natural ingredients used in the dishes.

There were three Caucasians – a smartly-dressed man in a tie and two ladies there that day and as they were leaving, they walked past me and they greeted me – nice, friendly people. I said I hoped they enjoyed their lunch and one of the ladies gave her thumb up and said, “It was superb!!!” Need I say more?

PAYUNG CAFÉ (2.284049, 111.833014) is located at No.20F, Lanang Road, Sibu, Malaysia, back to back with the multi-storey car park of the Kingwood Hotel which faces the majestic Rejang River.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

7 thoughts on “Gotta have it…”

  1. One look at the rojak, instantly I know this place, need no introduction. Food at Payung cafe always looks great and appetising. Coconut water on the house, that is so kind of the boss.

    Yes, he asked Ah Peng, one of the boys, to cut two for us – one big jar full. Unadulterated, not diluted with water like most places here.

  2. The ang mo also sing praises of the food!

    Everything looked superb. Great dinner I have to say. I tasted all except the pamelo salad and green curry.

    Gotta drop by again the next time you’re in town, lots to enjoy!

  3. If I’m ever in Sibu, this would be my first stop for food, thanks to you! 🙂

    You will not regret it, of that I am very sure…and I bet you will want to go back for more before you leave town!

  4. If I’m ever in Sibu, this would be my first stop for food, thanks to you! 😀

    Oopsss!!! Duplicate comment! So far, Libby (Singapore) complained of having this problem. I can always delete the second one but no, I’ll just leave it. Never mind, the more the merrier! LOL!!!

  5. Wow.. wow.. drooling over all the dishes above!! Hoping Payung will open a branch in IPOH or Penang or Johor, perhaps! LOL…

    No way. I heard Peter had a lot of proposals to open outlets in Kuching and KL but no, he’s not keen. Quite happy with everything the way it is right now.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com