So far so good…

No, I have not harvested my ladies’ fingers yet but the good news is they are doing very well.

In my previous post, I had a photograph of a bud but that one was a disappointment – it never did bloom and eventually withered and turned black. I guess there is some truth in the English proverb, the one that says, “Do not count your chickens until they are hatched!” The second one shared the same fate but eventually, I noticed that the other plants that I had were flowering as well…

Flowering 1

…opening slowly…

Flowering 2

…and finally, there were a few here and there in full bloom…

Flowering 3

They do look rather pretty, don’t you think?

Usually, plants would flower and when they drop, the fruits would appear. In the case of my ladies fingers, there did not seen to be any co-relation between the two. The vegetables started appearing on their own…

Growing 1

…simultaneously and they grew…

Growing 2

…and grew…

Growing 3

…and grew…

Growing 4

At the time of writing, there are a couple of big ones, around 4 to 5 inches long while the rest are still rather small.

I guess I can always go to the wet market and buy a packet for RM2.00 for a whole lot of the vegetable but that would not be half as much fun…plus these are a lot healthier – I only use organic fertiliser, no chemical ones, no pesticides…and it sure keeps me active, all that weeding, watering and everything that I am doing in the garden, the only exercise I get but most importantly, I am enjoying it all, watching the plants grow day by day…and right now, I am thinking of planting some eggplant/brinjal…

Brinjal/eggplant
*Photo from The Green House‘s Facebook page*

…too. They say they are just as easy to grow – any truth in that, anybody?

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

20 thoughts on “So far so good…”

  1. A promising start. There is no stopping you now. A career change, Mr Wee?

    Gardening/horiculture is a very popular choice of career change over here. These tend to be high flyers who are burnt out and were high salaried. On the other hand, we had stock brokers who have decided to become a a doctor and paramedic.

    Give up my wonderful life as a retiree, eat and sleep and relax and still get my pension? Don’t be ridiculous!

    For one thing, this has made me appreciate the farmers and vegetable sellers a lot more. RM1 or RM2 only for a bag of ladies fingers and French beans – I would pay willingly considering the amount of work, all that effort they would have to put in.

    I do enjoy doing it though, planting my own, so let it stay that way – a form of enjoyment just to pass the time.

  2. They are looking very healthy! We went to a “grow your own grub” class on the weekend. We learned it’s all starts with good quality soil and all about composting your own food scraps. Do you compost?

    No, I don’t. The closest thing I get to that would be collected all the withered leaves and putting them back in the pots.

  3. I wouldn’t know about brinjal as I have never planted that but ask submerryn, she will say it is easy I guess since she grows them a lot. Good to see your lady fingers growing well.

    She grows anything and everything so effortlessly and they all look so very nice. I wonder what she does – maybe fertilise with her sons’ urine? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  4. Cactus is easy to plant πŸ˜€

    We have two little ones – my missus took home, my sister-in-law’s…and they are still very little, grossly neglected. She does that all the time, bring things home and plant…and leave them to survive on fresh air and the sun and the rain.

  5. I stay in a pigeon hole, no garden, if not, i will learn to plant from you…

    HDB flat, eh? The people at the shop grow the ladies’ fingers in pots and theirs look really good! You can try.

  6. I’m a noob at gardening, so can offer no insightsπŸ˜…. But I do enjoy looking at a well grown and well tended garden. I should probably venture into this sometime, plant something suitable and easy on my balcony. So glad you’re enjoying gardening. It’s a great way to pass time and get some exercise and sunshine. Not to mention all those home grown veges that you can put on your table for your family πŸ˜€.
    How about tomato? Heard they are easy?

    We had cherry tomatoes once – maybe some birds brought the seeds over and the plant grew really well. We had quite a lot to eat but I prefer regular tomatoes. Had cili padi too…but the birds got to them faster than we ever could…and another time, they were all rotten inside so I had to get rid of the plant.

    Not sure yet what I will plant next – my main objective right now is to keep the garden nice and trim…and yes, the exercise is good for me, and the sunshine and fresh air too.

  7. This looks like a good start to motivate you into gardening. Wow, impressed to see that your ladies fingers are growing so well. Thumbs up, Arthur.

    Yes, will probably harvest a few when my girl comes home this weekend. Can’t wait to enjoy the fruit of my labour.

  8. Hey, you’ve got a new hobby. Congratulations. It can be quite a lot of fun watching these things grow.

    Yes, indeed. I do derive much pleasure from seeing everything growing well and looking good. Quite a chore though, the weeds grow way too fast for comfort. πŸ˜€

  9. Yes, Arthur, your garden has so much space, this type of planting is a good exercise for us oldies… never mind they grow or not on first try.. eventually they do and you gain knowledge too about gardening. hahahaha.. I talk nice, but I have yet to try … I don’t have a garden big like yours.. no soil… soooooo……

    Yes, at least I do not sit all day in front of the PC. The bending, getting up, moving around and everything are exercise enough for an old man like me and I do get to sweat a lot. Still fat but I do feel more energetic, not so lazy like before.

    I’m not all that ambitious – more towards keeping everything looking nice and tidy. The more you plant, the more you have to jaga, the more work to be done. No, thank you.

  10. A good start to own vegetable garden. I love when what you plant, they grow.

    Yes, but on the other hand, it can be quite frustrating when all that you plant die eventually…like my sweet basil, my lemon balm, my mint. πŸ˜₯

  11. It’s exciting isn’t it to see your plants flowering and the anticipation of a harvest. Looks like you will be enjoying your own organic produce πŸ™‚

    Hopefully, come this weekend when my girl comes home from her school in the jungle…

  12. Yes to eggplant – it’d be something delicious to harvest – and what do they say? A brinjal in hand is worth two in the bush! πŸ˜‰

    I thought it was supposed to be…a bird? πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  13. It sure takes times, energy and patience to plant own fruits and vegetables…
    But it’s always safer and healthier la! So I guess all the hard works are worth it!

    For one thing, I do feel better – the exercise is good for me, if nothing else. πŸ˜‰

  14. Yes for eggplant. You wont even need to care for them. Just water them once a day. I always have okras, brinjals, tomatoes and spinach planted at home. Try growing corns next. The level of satisfaction is infinity.

    Ok, will get the seeds soon. Wish me luck.

  15. Nice, long time d I didnt plant any veggie. Now at my backyard mostly are pineapples only, easy, not much care needed.

    Pineapple is a good choice – getting to be very very very expensive these days…and sweet corn too. Ladies’ fingers, RM1 or 2, you get a big plastic bag of it – cheap.

  16. buds turning black maybe due to too much water.

    I planted eggplant twice and they attracted too many pest

    Oh? No eggplant then. Too much water? I only water once a day leh? πŸ˜₯

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

