Too early…

My cousin in Kuching asked me to buy the very nice coffee powder from here so I was out very early that morning, before 7.00 a.m.

This used to be a cinema – the Palace Theatre…

Palace Theatre

…and the little shop is by the side somewhere in the middle on the left hand side. It is round the corner, say, around 100 metres from the Sibu Fire Station…

Sibu Fire Station

I love going out early in the morning as traffic would be very light and there would not be any problem finding a parking space plus it is free…until 8.00 a.m.

I placed my order and told the guy that I would be back to collect it later and in the meantime, I went here…

Chieng's Corner

…for breakfast.

I had seen people sharing photographs on Facebook of the Sarawak/Kuching laksa here with the huge freshwater prawns or udang galah but no, I did not intend to have that – I just wanted to try the laksa to see if it was any good but unfortunately, the early bird does not always catch the worm.

The guy had not shown up for work yet…

Chieng's Corner laksa stall

…so I decided to order something from the kampua noodle stall…

Chieng's Corner kampua stall

…in front instead, their kampua kosong (RM2.00)…

Chieng's Corner kampua kosong

– without meat, that is, and their pian sip, dry (RM3.00)…

Chieng's Corner pian sip, dry

…so I guess the kampua noodles here would be RM3.00 a plate too like what I had here. It sure looks like that is currently the standard price around here or at least, at some of the shops in town.

The kopi-o-peng (iced black coffee)…

Chieng's Corner, kopi-o-peng

…was RM1.90 a glass when most other places would charge RM1.80 only, some even less.

I guess I would just have to forget about the laksa then as parking would be virtually impossible around here should I show up around there much later in the morning.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

12 thoughts on “Too early…”

  1. I was looking forward to seeing your thoughts on the laksa. Maybe on a public holiday it might be possible to get in there with less parking issues?

    It would be worse on public holidays. No parking fee so all the shopkeepers and everybody would drive to work and leave their cars there the whole day – virtually impossible to get a space which I always think is rather silly of those people. If they can get to work without using their cars on normal days, they should do the same on public holidays – customers wanting to come to their shop may just go elsewhere when they cannot find a place to park after going round and round so many times.

  2. I love pian sip, it’s always my favourite…

    You mean wanton, the ones you have there? Not quite the same.

  3. I am always early too, not to grab for something to bite but for my usual morning exercise at the neighbourhood park. Don’t feel bad for not catching the worms as there might be a chance you will venture into that part of the town again. Pian sip for me, pls.

    Not too sure when I will venture to that part of town again. Would not have gone if my cousin did not ask me to get the coffee for her. I hate going to the town centre, so congested and parking can be such a pain. I’d rather go elsewhere…especially when parking at some places outside of town is free some more!

  4. Here in Montreal, some of the restaurants open their doors for breakfast at 5 a.m. πŸ™‚

    That used to be the case here but with the present generation, some start very late – by 10 or 11 and most western cafes and restaurants here will only open at 12.

  5. Maybe the laksa stall closed that day? Off day?

    Usually those stall operators operate early.

    Talking about kampua, my hubby just found another good authentic Sibu kampua in Kuching. He had it last weekend and said will bring me to try it one day. Hmm. Still not a big fan of kampua though. Haha.

    No, the kampua guy said he had not turned up for work yet – I hear he’s from Kuching, not as hardworking as the Sibu Foochows, up and about by the break of dawn. πŸ˜€

    Hmmm…in Kuching, I would go for the kolo mee, the good ones – will definitely not want to go for the kampua.

  6. Oh no, too bad u didnt get to try the Sarawak laksa.

    Nothing has been heard or seen about it since all that publicity stunt on Facebook with all the giant freshwater prawns. Not too sure if it is really any good.

  7. so you like kampua kosong? i feel it’s really empty.. tasty enough?

    No, I only order that if I have something else to go with it…like in this case, the pian sip or at another place, the beef soup but in my younger days, when things did not come so easy, we would order that – the no-meat kampua, 30 cents a plate only and so satisfying for us at the time, so much pleasure we derived from eating that. Time sure has changed.

  8. The kopi o looks kind of dilute? Or maybe it is the lighting… πŸ™‚ I like plain kampua without any minced pork too, a plate of pian sip will be nice to go with it… not too meaty…

    It was! So diluted and more expensive than everywhere else. The kampua and the pian sip were not drained well, so wet and so soggy and the taste also was way below the usual standard in general. You can jolly well guess whether or not I will be going back there again for these.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own.

