Every day I love you less and less…

Some of you may recall how I used to sing praises of the Sarawak laksa at e-Cafe at the Delta Commercial Centre in Pedada here in Sibu. Well, my daughter loves the laksa there too, so when she was home last week, we dropped by the place for some…

e-Cafe Sarawak laksa special 1

This was their special at RM5.00 for a giant bowl and lots of little prawns/shrimps. It was still nice but somehow I felt that the quality had dropped. The gravy looked kind of pale and was not as fragrant as before…

e-Cafe Sarawak laksa special 2

Maybe it was because of the sambal that they used, I wouldn’t know. But when I was at Thomson Corner (@Pusat Tanahwang, opposite Sacred Heart Secondary School) a day or two later with my daughter, I saw the posters advertising their Kuching laksa special at RM7.00 a bowl. I used to like their laksa best at one time until I discovered the one at e-Cafe. So, on Sunday after the morning church service, I decided to go back there to give it a try…

Thomson Corner Kuching laksa special 1

Wow! It certainly looked good…with its THREE huge udang galah (freshwater prawns)…

Thomson Corner Kuching laksa special 2

You have to pay RM20 for a bowl of prawn noodles at Ming Kong…and it isn’t much cheaper either at Glory Cafe in Sarikei. Tastewise, it was as nice as it used to be…so now, as far as Sarawak/Kuching laksa in Sibu is concerned, this one is my No. 1!

My missus had their seafood kampua noodles (RM3.50) which is also one of my favourites at that eatery…

Thomson Corner seafood kampua

It was good enough already before…but it seemed they had improved on it by adding some fried stuff to it. I did not sample it but my missus said that the noodles were still as nice as before.

All in all, the laksa and kampua noodles plus two glasses of kopi-o-peng came up to only RM13.10. Cheap, don’t you think?

Tie a yellow ribbon…

My daughter loves Japanese food, so everytime she comes home, this is one place that we will definitely have to go to…

Sushi Tie 1

…except that it is not pronounced “tie” as in “necktie” but actually, it rhymes with “dear” being the Chinese surname of the proprietor of the place. Others have tried but if I’m not mistaken, all have failed and have closed down. This is the only Japanese restaurant that is thriving pretty well, it seems, here in Sibu with its original restaurant at the Fortune Commercial Centre (opposite Uncle Dom, behind the Rejang Medical Centre) and a branch at Wisma Sanyan, plus an outlet at the Sing Kwong Commercial Complex in Salim.

That day, when we went, there were some yellow ribbons and green ones too and ketupat shells – the decorations for the Hari Raya festival…

Sushi Tie 2

This guy is the sushi chef at the place…and there’s no way of telling whether he’s Foochow or Japanese. LOL!!!

Sushi Tie 3

My daughter had the unagi don (RM11.50) – braised eel with rice, that is…

Sushi Tie's tempura udon

…and the maki set (RM16.20)…

Sushi Tie's maki set 1

…which comprised a couple of these…

Sushi Tie's maki set 2

…and these…

Sushi Tie's maki set 3

…and these…

Sushi Tie's maki set 4

…and these…

Sushi Tie's maki set 5

I ordered the tempura udon (RM12.60) and got these noodles…

Sushi Tie's tempura udon 1

…and two prawn fritters or tempura prawns as they are called…

Sushi Tie's tempura prawns

Together with two small cups of green tie (@RM1.30 each), the total came up to RM42.90. Pretty expensive, don’t you think? Well, we do not have a choice as that’s the only one in town…unless you go to those sushi stalls that we can find here in some of the shopping malls in town. Well, since my daughter loves it and we do not go very often, it’s no big deal really.

But the thing is…the servings aren’t very substantial and it would not have been enough for me if we had not had a late breakfast that morning at Thomson Corner at Pusat Tanahwang, opposite Sacred Heart Secondary School. We had the red bean shake…

Thomson Corner's red bean shake

I’ve always loved the drink ever since those days when the eatery was located at the Catholic Centre (next to the Sacred Heart Cathedral) and I would stop by to have one every time I went to pick my daughter up from school at St Rita’s Primary. We also had the salad sotong (cuttlefish)…

Thomson Corner's salad sotong

…and the shui gao (chicken dumplings)…

Thomson Corner's chicken dumplings

…and upon leaving the place after the delightful breakfast, it just dawned on me that I had locked my car keys in the car! Darn!!! Hahahahaha….