I will survive (2)…

I guess everybody knows by now that I had a toothache some two weeks ago and had to go and get it extracted. My regular dentist was out of town, so I went to this sweet young thing – a former student of mine at one of my English tuition classes many years ago. She was very good – very gentle and very patient…and took some time to get the molar removed. Nope, I’m not quite toothless yet…but I can safely say that I’m almost there! LOL!!!

I still have one upper molar left and one virtually useless wisdom tooth, both on the right…and that’s about it. I guess I will have to skip any meat dishes especially if they’re tough or hard but minced meat should be fine. This, of course, means that I can still enjoy my pian sip

Soon Hock pian sip

…our Sibu version of kiaw or wantan. In fact, I found that I had difficulty dealing with the few miserable slices of boiled meat coloured red that usually come with the plates of kampua noodles. It took me quite a while to chew them but that is no big deal as I personally prefer having the noodles with pian sip instead…

Peter's pian sip kampua

Then, I went out and bought myself one Hokkien bak chang (meat dumpling)…

Hokkien bak chang 1

…and thankfully, I found that it did not pose a problem at all even with all that meat inside…

Hokkien bak chang 2

…and last Thursday night, when I went out for dinner with this ex-student of mine who is now attached to Shell in Miri and was back in Sibu for a few days, I decided that I just could not resist ordering the fish…

Steamed black pomfret with sambal

…that steamed black pomfret (ikan bawal hitam) with its very nice sambal gravy. I tried that for the very first time during the dinner with annant and my Penang buddy, Eng, that night before I took off on my Penang/KL trip and I really loved it so much that I just had to have it again. Eating that was a piece of cake and likewise, the tofu on a hot plate served with minced meat and salted fish and the bitter gourd with salted egg…

Bitter gourd with salted egg

…but I was stumped when it came to this dish of baby kailan with cheese…

Baby kailan with cheese

I discovered that I was not able to chew the leafy vegetable so I was forced to abort my attempt to eat it.

Well, it certainly looks like there are certain things that I will no longer be able to enjoy from now on…but what the heck! There are still a lot of other stuff that I can still enjoy. In the words of  Gloria Gaynor, I will survive!!! Hahahahahaha….