It’s not supposed to be that way…

No, I did not drop by the shop but I think it is open for takeaways. I did drive past once – all the shutters were down except for the main entrance which was blocked by tables. I loved the mee sua or hung ngang in the traditional Foochow red wine chicken soup and the liver soup there and so does my friend, Annie, in KL – she will surely come here for those whenever she comes home.

Well, I stopped by the fruit and food shop near my house to stock up on meat and vegetables – our supply was running out – and the lady owner asked me if I wanted any beef or chicken, already cooked. I wasn’t all that keen on chicken – we could jolly well cook our own – but we had not had beef for a long time so I decided I would try that.

In the course of our conversation, she mentioned that it was rendang and when she took out the container…

Container

…I noticed that it was from the aforementioned eatery…

From Opps Kopitiam

“Yes,” she said, “they cooked it and left a few containers here for sale.”

However, when we heated it up…

Opps beef rendang

…to eat, we were somewhat disappointed. No, it was not supposed to be that way, nothing like rendang as I know it to be and definitely not like one of my favourites that I had enjoyed before. It wasn’t really like curry either but it was closer to that than rendang – let’s just say it was their version of curry, not the best, of course, but it was all right, that much I would say. One thing I would give them due credit for would be how the meat was very tender.

That was RM45.00 a tub, not cheap at all but of course, beef is every expensive here and we only get the frozen ones from Australia and New Zealand…plus there was so much in the tub that we could stretch it over a few days.

I don’t know how long this lockdown/MCO is going to last – perhaps one of these days, I can drop by here and tapao the very delightful beef rendang and everything else they have on their menu – we sure miss them heaps!

OPPS KOPITIAM (2.294073, 111.827333) is located off Jalan Keranji, among the shops opposite the Sibu Public Library.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

9 thoughts on “It’s not supposed to be that way…”

  1. I am not a fan of beef so I never buy it to cook. I heard that one have to know how to cut so that that meat won’t be hard and tough.

    So no Ah Mui for you? The frozen beef is real tough so we hardly ever buy as well, no fresh beef here…no Sarabif. You will have to cut across the grain…and marinate to tenderise. Can also use papaya leaves…and somebody said kiwi fruit!

    1. I love ah Mui beef noodles but not as in beef rendang or beef curry, etc.

      I love clear soup beef noodles too, the Taiwan-style ones, not really.

  2. Beef is expensive, we dont buy the meat that often. I like beef rendang and daging masak hitam. Other than those, I dont take beef that much.

    You can get fresh beef from Sarabif, not like here. The imported beef is so tough, I don’t bother to buy and cook anymore.

  3. Wow RM 45 a tub is certainly pricey for takeaway that disappoints.

    I certainly would agree. Definitely not going to buy again, that’s for sure.

  4. Guess w MCO have to be less picky-really seems to be never ending-TK uncle Arthur

    Yes, be thankful we can still go out to stock up on food and have money to buy and we still have things to eat. Many are in a very difficult position at this point in time. You take care too!

  5. Quite a lot in that tub. I love beef! Sadly the taste was unsatisfactory.

    Yes, other not that satisfactory ones that I had had from all over town were better…even. Disappointing especially when I was hoping it would be nice since they do have some nice stuff at their place.

  6. on the bright side, this not-quite-rendang looks very saucy – so it’ll be good to go with a lot of rice! 🙂

    Yes, that was one saving grace – not so nice but at least, better than just eating plain white rice.

  7. I think we all have the same question – how long will it last?

    Make it June 1st like Singapore, after the Gawai and Hari Raya. Those people so disobedient, Ramadan has started, no bazaars allowed but so many selling at the roadside outside their houses, roads were jammed. Bye bye social distancing and all!!!

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com