Just enough…

We dropped by here for lunch last week because my girl wanted their mui choy stewed pork belly/梅菜焖猪肉 (RM15.00)…

Dragon Restaurant mui choy stewed pork belly

…that she likes a lot.

We used to frequent this place quite a bit until the guy moved to a bigger place with an air-conditioned 1st floor elsewhere and opened another outlet in another part of town. The latter had since closed down – as for the former, I think it is still there though I am not too sure as to whether it is still as popular and crowded as when it first opened or not.

Eventually, I heard that somebody took over the cooking here, the brother or cousin or some relative of the previous guy, I’m not too sure so food would be available like before and they would be serving those same dishes that we used to enjoy a lot here. When we went there that afternoon, the faces of the people sure looked familiar and from their knowing looks/smiles, I could tell that they could remember me too.

For our vegetable dish, we had their cangkok manis fried with egg (RM8.00)…

Dragon Restaurant & Cafe cangkok manis with egg

…and I could see from their display board that they had ikan lajong, a fish that we actually like a lot. However, I was reluctant to order it because the last time I had that at the other place, they served us one HUGE slab, enough for a table of 10 in a regular Chinese banquet and charged us over RM60.00 for it. Honestly, I was quite pissed off by that!

In the end, I relented because the lady taking our orders insisted that they would not do anything of the sort – instead, there would be two small slices, just enough for the three of us and that was exactly what we got, steamed (RM28.00)…

Dragon Restaurant & Cafe steamed lajong

It was very nice and we sure enjoyed it a lot. No, it was not all that cheap but considering how nice it was, I would say it was indeed value for money and besides, it was half the price of the two slices of deep-fried cod (RM56.00) that we had here.

That was a delightful lunch and yes, we would most certainly come back here again soon.

DRAGON RESTAURANT & CAFE (2.28502,111.831491) is located along Jalan Maju, opposite The Rejang Esplanade, across the road from The Ark. 

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

7 thoughts on “Just enough…”

  1. These are my kind of comfort food. May I know what ” ikan lajong” call in Hockkien? I am extremely poor in names of fishes and only knew a few of those common fishes that I used to buy.

    I haven’t the slightest idea. Everyone calls it lajong, even the Chinese.

  2. ooo, i’m not sure i’ve ever had ikan lajong before – i’ve not heard of it, so i should look out for it! 🙂

    It’s a freshwater river fish, dunno if you can get it over there or not…like the empurau, semah and all the rest. Can only get those here or from here.

  3. wahhh this is one of the best looking slab of pork I’ve came across, and for RM 15 only!?

    Your West Malaysian friends from KL who were here would tell you that everything is so cheap and so so nice here! So when are you coming?

  4. No complaints about the food above… all come with a reasonably price too!

    Prices at most places here, very reasonable and of course, the best thing is it tastes great! Simple and nice, not overrated.

  5. mmmmm… I want that pork belly! I love steamed fish like that too. A good fish is pricey but worth it!

    Goes without saying!!! Right here waiting…your turn to pay this beautiful little town a visit – beautiful people, beautiful food…beautiful prices, beautiful everything!

  6. Mui choy with stewed pork belly remains my favourite, i just had mock vegetarian pork belly rice that day, nothing likes the real thing.

    I guess so. Somebody gave me mock meat rendang and no, we did not enjoy it.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com