Anything…

When my friend, Nick, was in town in 2017, he chuckled as we drove past here…

Ching Cai Cafe

Obviously, he was amused by the name of this coffee shop.

Looking at the image by the side, I guess literally, it means green vegetables but in Hokkien, when somebody asks you what you would like to eat, most likely, the reply would be ching cai, meaning anything or when someone asks you where you want to go, you will reply ching cai or anywhere. I can imagine you asking someone what he or she wants to eat and the reply is ching cai and you take him or her here. That would be hilarious!

Anyway, a friend of mine has been sharing photographs on his Facebook page of the kolo mee

Ching Cai Cafe kolo mee 1

…he has been going for here, singing its praises to the skies. At one time, business did not look so good here – there were not that many people usually. We did drop by to see what they had for their chap fan (mixed rice) and everything looked good but we had something else in mind so we did not give it a try.

I placed my order at the stall…

Ching Cai Cafe kolo mee stall

…and went to sit at a vacant table and waited. The kopi-o-peng (iced black coffee) was decent (RM1.70)…

Ching Cai Cafe kopi-o-peng

…and when I was given the dip – the usual with kolo mee, the pickled chili slices in vinegar – I could not help thinking that they could have been a bit more generous with the chili. There were only two bits and when the lady brought another one, thinking that I had not got it yet, there were also two only in it and I asked her to give those to me so in the end, I had four altogether.

As for the noodles, I would say that it (RM3.50)…

Ching Cai Cafe kolo mee 2

…was good. I forgot to tell the lady I would like it white so it was served red from the char siew sauce added. I could detect the fragrance of the fried garlic in it and with dashes of the vinegar added, I rather enjoyed it…and yes, I was impressed by the fact that they added real char siew, not the boiled meat coloured red that you will find in most of our Sibu kampua mee.

They were out of prawns that day so I could not have the special. Perhaps I will go back again one of these days for that.

CHING CAI CAFÉ (2.292201, 111.835254) is the corner coffee shop located along Lorong Chew Siik Hiong 1 facing Jalan Mahsuri in the area of shops behind the Rejang Medical Centre.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

3 thoughts on “Anything…”

  1. Kolo mee looks good and I prefer it white. Over here, when you order kolo mee they will automatically serve it white unless you tell them to put red. Chilli are expensive these days.

    If I remember correctly, at my favourite, the Green Road one, they will ask red or white.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com