Come & go…

I did mention in an earlier post that Peter was not around when I dropped by the café…

Payung

…on the night of my birthday. Well, he called me the following day and invited me over the following evening…

Bunga kantan

…for a belated celebration.

Of course I could not go empty-handed – the Chinese have this phrase, “Oo lai oo khi!” (Got come, got go!) so on the way there, I dropped by here to buy their very nice durian cheesecake…

Durian cheesecake

…to bring along with me to enjoy with everybody else – my friends gave me a slice that day and I loved it so much!

Peter had this absolutely out-of-this-world chicken in traditional Foochow red wine soup specially cooked for me to enjoy with our Foochow longevity noodles, the mee sua

Birthday mee sua

– a must eat on birthdays and other special occasions and as if that huge bowl of the noodles, the meat and the eggs were not enough, he also served me a separate bowl of the awesome soup and some more of the meat!

Yes, everyone enjoyed the cake and it so happened that an ex-colleague of mine was there with her hubby for dinner (extreme left in the photograph below)…

Dining at Payung

– she said they love the rojak very much. I don’t know what else they had but I did cut two slices of the durian cheesecake, one each, for them to enjoy and yes, she said it was very nice.

Thank you so so much, Peter, for the very special and exclusive birthday treat – it certainly was so very nice of you to go through the trouble of doing that specially for my birthday…again this year!

PAYUNG CAFÉ (2.284049, 111.833014) is located at No.20F, Lanang Road, Sibu, Malaysia, back to back with the multi-storey car park of the Kingwood Hotel which faces the majestic Rejang River.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

9 thoughts on “Come & go…”

  1. So nice of Peter to throw you another birthday celebration. Truly blessed. That bowl of mee sua looks so good with the extremely thick red wine. Bet you slurp till the last drop. Long live King Arthur.

    Praise the Lord! Peter’s such a great guy!

  2. A lovely treat by Peter. And durian cheesecake! Never had that before. Anything to do with durian, I ain’t keen to try. Lol.

    Funny how I will not touch durian…usually but I absolutely love these durian desserts with the lovely durian cream.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com