It’s your birthday…

September 11th, 911 for short, is a significant date that will never be forgotten and it happened to be my mum’s birthday as well – she would have been 88 this year.

We had to send my girl back to her school in the jungle that day after the extra long weekend so we left the house earlier than usual to stop by my parents’ resting place…

Mum's birthday, 2018

…along the way to offer flowers and prayers and wish her a Happy Birthday.

Normally we would have our lunch first but that day, we agreed to stop by the shop here in Selangau Bazaar for that.

We had their bitter gourd omelette…

Hua Kee, Selangau bitter gourd omelette 1

…which was all right…

Hua Kee, Selangau bitter gourd omelette 2

…and though the cangkuk manis with egg…

Hua Kee, Selangau cangkuk manis with egg

…was kind of watery, it was good too.

I asked for the bawal hitam (black pomfret) to be just deep fried like that, no flour, no sauce, nothing and this was what we got (RM18.00)…

Hua Kee, Selangau deep fried or chio

They got it right the first time but the 2nd time, they coated it with flour prior to frying and thankfully, it was tapioca, not wheat. This time around, they sprinkled some soy sauce over it and I was quite pissed off by how they could not stick to my specific instructions. We quickly removed the skin and the soy sauce on the outside so my girl was able to eat the soy sauce-free inside of the fish.

The total for the food and the rice for three came up to over RM30.00 only but I think the next time, I would just cook myself or buy some dishes from somewhere and bring the food and rice in a  tiffin carrier to heat up and eat at my girl’s quarters when we get there.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

7 thoughts on “It’s your birthday…”

  1. Cangkuk manis fried with egg used to be my favourite but this one I will give it a pass. I like the bitter gourd omelette and deep fried hitam bawal.

    God Bless you for being a filial son.

    Thank you.

    Cangkuk manis was good despite what it looked like, so watery – I’ve had others elsewhere that were quite disappointing.

  2. Our love ones will always stay in our fond memories, god bless you for always remembering your late mom and visiting her on her birthday

    Thank you. Yes, gone but always remembered. Sad that there are people who have moved elsewhere but when they come home, they do not make it a point to visit the resting places of those who loved them so well in those long forgotten years.

  3. Same birth date with my Jamie. 911.

    Love all the dishes you had. Especially the fish. The kind I would order and usually cook at home.

    Hope next round, they listen and follow your instruction. ^^

    Hopefully. The food’s nice here and for one thing, it is inexpensive.

  4. It runs in the family. How doting you are towards your late mom and dad and how Melissa is towards her parents. This is what proper upbringing does and it shows so clearly.

    Such a pity the fish was drizzled in soy sauce. Some people just don’t understand that there are people out there who are not tolerant towards all these hence the special request to fry it just as it is. Sigh.

    Filial piety is a virtue.

    I felt like asking them to take it back and fry me a new one…but my girl doesn’t like to make a fuss over things. She has yet to learn to be a bit mean sometimes.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com