This is the day…

We celebrated our girl’s birthday earlier that weekend when the cousin was home and on the actual day, the 17th of September – the registration people got it wrong and it came out as the 18th in the birth certificate and we never bothered to get it rectified – we went out for dinner here…

Tasty Hotpot

This place has been around for quite sometime now and I think I did hear people saying that they quite liked what they had here but for no particular reason, we never went to give it a try.

There aren’t that many things on their menu – I guess that is because this…

The main attraction

…is their main attraction. You pick how you would like it done out of a choice of four – we chose spicy, moderate which according to the girl, is their signature style and then we went to pick the meat…

Meat

…from the freezer and the vegetables and mushrooms and what not…

Add-ons

…from the containers beside it. Everything here is calculated by how much per 100 gm but those were not our picks – I only took the photograph as they were still there at the counter whereas ours had already gone into the kitchen to be cooked.

This was what it looked like…

Ours

…when it was done and served. The ladies enjoyed it very much – let’s just say I was not all that impressed as it came across as one of those spicy Korean dishes with kim chi and chili paste and everything and no, I am not a fan of those.

The chicken soup with scallop and mushrooms…

Soup

…was a little more up my alley. It was kind of mild and I thought it was quite good.

My girl ordered the dumplings, plain and with chives…

Dumplings

…and she enjoyed them to the max, the latter especially.

I wanted these…

Pork

…their Thai sauce pork which was nice except that it tasted more like chicken with honey so much so that I even had to confirm with the girl that it was actually what we ordered.

Service was great and the place was comfortable enough. All in all, the total came up to over RM70.00 and of course, as long as my girl enjoyed herself especially since it was her birthday, I was fine with it.

TASTY HOTPOT (2.296817, 111.825706) is located along Jalan Tun Abg Hj Openg, beside the old Sing Kwong (Kin Orient Plaza) in the same block of shops as the KimChee Korean BBQ which is on the 1st floor at the other end.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

8 thoughts on “This is the day…”

  1. Even though it is hotpot but they do serve many other side dishes like thai sauce pork and chicken soup with scallops and mushrooms which is good.

    Not many – those were just about it, nothing else on their menu, and since I am not crazy about the hotpot nor the dumplings, I don’t think we would go there again.

  2. Not my type of place to go but I might like the chicken soup with scallop and mushrooms and the dumplings too. Well. like you always say, as long as Mel is happy you are happy too. All for the love of her as most parents will.

    Yes, whatever makes her happy makes me happy too.

    I was thinking of cooking my own chicken and scallop that day and then I got lazy – I like the one at the wedding banquets at a leading hotel here. Sometimes they use black chicken, healthier they said but not really my favourite – the colour puts me off. LOL!!!

  3. Firstly, Happy Birthday to Melissa! Secondly, I like the Korean food you ordered. I also like this style, choose the vegetables and then let them cook… reminds me of the Mala pot in Johor…

    Firstly, thank you. Secondly, from the writing on the wall, it looks Japanese. Mala is Sichuan and no, I don’t think I will enjoy that, thank you very much.

  4. ooo, hotpot restaurants are all the rage, and no city or town in malaysia seems immune! 🙂 happy belated birthday to your beloved daughter! 🙂

    Thank you. I wonder why everyone seems to fall head over heels with the likes of this, that Mala or whatever hotpot thing has taken the world by storm. It sure did not turn me on.

  5. Oh I see, that’s the way it is done. I thought that hot pot is something like steamboat. There is one hot pot restaurant near my office. I have yet to give it a try.

    I was expecting something like steamboat with the super hot red pepper soup, definitely not something I would enjoy.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com