Nearby…

When I woke up that first morning in Kuching, at around 7.00 a.m., I walked to this shop…

Choon Hui 1

…located nearby, right around the corner and I was shocked to see all the illegally parked cars along the road outside even though it was still so early in the morning.

The place was FULL and I had to sit at a table where there was a young guy enjoying his bowl of Sarawak/Kuching laksa but after asking him, of course, and he said that he did not mind, a very nice young man who even took his leave politely when he was done after which, I had the whole table to myself.

I cannot recall exactly when the last time I came here was but I do remember it was before I retired and I was staying at the hotel next door, either conducting a course for English teachers or attending a workshop or seminar and early one morning, my very dear friend, Jimmy, since deceased – he passed away in a tragic road accident, and I walked over for breakfast. I don’t think I ever went back to the shop…

Choon Hui 2

…since, not even after all that publicity when the late Anthony Bourdain dropped by and fell in love with the Sarawak/Kuching laksa from this stall…

Laksa stall

…there especially when there are locals who will tell you that this one is not the best in the city and there are other nicer ones around. I did not go for the laksa though – for one thing, it was way too early and for another, we do have one place here with pretty good laksa and I would not want to go for anything we can go for anytime in town.

I went for the kolo mee instead even though we may have some wannabes in Sibu that come pretty close but some do not even know for a fact that when it comes to kolo mee, one has to give this chili soaked in vinegar dip…

Kolo mee chili vinegar dip

…not that bottled chili sauce that one would get with kampua mee.

I remember having the kolo mee here before and it was good and that morning, I asked for the special (RM6.00)…

Kolo mee

…and even though I would not say it was the best in town, it was definitely kolo mee, not kampua mee in disguise.

I also remember enjoying the popiah here before and despite the fact that I had just made my own at home over the weekend before coming over to Kuching, I could not resist ordering two (RM3.30 each)…

Popiah

…and it was served with this sweet sauce with bits of chili in it.

Yes, it was very nice…

Popiah, cross-section

…and I made up my mind there and then that I would walk over early Sunday morning before my flight back to Sibu to buy some to take home.

CHOON HUI CAFE 春园茶室 (1.552768, 110.354468) is located at No. 34, Jalan Ban Hock in Kuching to the left of the Hotel Grand Continental there.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

12 thoughts on “Nearby…”

  1. Looking at your popiah, now having craving for it.

    I don’t recall ever having that in Singapore, KL, yes…many many years ago, the stall at Jalan Petaling, outside Popular Book Store. Not quite the same though. They cook the sengkuang in oyster sauce or whatever till very soft and mushy.

  2. I would not say it is the best or the worst as different people has different taste buds. I would say to each his/her own. I have been to these places (Chang Choon, Choon Hui, Foody Goody) where people praise their laksa to the skies but for me, I still prefer laksa from Fat Cat, Stutong Commercial Centre. For kolo mee, my favourite is at Lian June Cafe at BDC Commercial Centre.

    Yes, same thing with kampua mee here in Sibu. Many would declare that their favourites are the best but to me, they are all just so-so, nothing to get excited about. To each his own. I’ve tried Fat Cat before and all the better known ones. Kolo mee, Oriental Park is nice but my favourite is the Green Road one – it has a special flavour that I really like. Lots of disappointing ones all over as well.

  3. I dont remember when the last time I was here! Yes, cars always parked illegally and hardly any table vacant, not to mention sharing one.

    Glad you enjoyed your breakfast and reminiscing on the past. I used to enjoy its popiah and laksa. Dont remember I tried the kolo mee or not.

    I’ve tried all three before. There is a porridge stall too but that one, I never tried.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com