Unsung heroes…

There are a few celebrated kampua mee places, those that many people will swear by and insist that their choices are the best in town, second to none. I’ve tried some, if not all, of them but I would not go to such an extent as to make such a declaration. One man’s meat is another man’s poison and I, for one, have my own preferences.

The other day, however, I decided to go to the lesser-known places, those that I hardly ever hear anybody mention. Who knows, there may be some unsung heroes, so to speak, those that may be really nice but are yet to be discovered. For a start, I stopped by here…

Xu Mama Cafe

…the other morning.

I don’t know if it now has a new name but the shop sign sure looks new but what I do know is that this sotong kangkong guy used to be here and was immensely popular. Incidentally, he is no longer at that other place now and I don’t know what has happened to him. Another thing that this place was popular for was their bak chang (meat dumplings) but I did not see any that morning. There was a nice chu-char (cook & fry) place at the back a long long time ago too and I did go and buy some dishes home. I don’t know if they are still there – I did not venture so far inside the shop but there are a few other stalls including one Muslim/Malay one.

The kopi-o-peng (RM1.70)…

Xu Mama Cafe kopi-o-peng

…was good, as good as many other places around town.

As for the kampua mee from this stall…

Xu Mama Cafe kampua mee stall

…when I got there, I was attracted by the lor mee (RM6.00)…

Xu Mama Cafe lor mee 1

…that everybody else at the shop at that time was having so I took that as an indication that it must be very good.

It was good, not like the lor mee that I used to know before and more like the Hailam lor mee that I had once in Penang. Yes, it had the yellow noodles and the kangkong (water spinach) inside…

Xu Mama Cafe lor mee 2

…and when I tasted the gravy initially before everything else, I thought it was so very thick, so gooey and gluey but after I had tossed everything together to eat, it was all right and I would say that I did enjoy it quite a lot in the end.

As for the kampua mee, I guess I will have to go back there another day to give it a try.

XU MAMA CAFE (许妈妈茶室) is located at No 5, Jalan Ramin (Ramin Way), opposite what used to be Star Cineplex or Cathay Cinema a long time ago.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

13 thoughts on “Unsung heroes…”

  1. Don’t look down on those some lesser known place, they might have hidden gem there. Once I was in the vicinity at 7th Mile Sentosa area, I venture into a kopitiam at the corner of an old row of shophouses. I had there kolo mee and it has the old school authentic taste, so very nice and cheap, RM3 only.

    I had very nice kolo mee at 10th Mile…and even in Lundu!

  2. I’ve been reading up on all your posts before I go back for CNY. I’ve read your past year’s posts over the past few weeks! Haha. So far narrowed down the must-eats to Chip Chung beef noodles, Kiong Chuong Cafe, Kedai Kopi Sibu for Foochow noodles special and Warong Cafe for mee jawa. I’ve been to Kiong Chung before, used to go quite often when I was working in Pansar but haven’t been for over 10 years.

    Welcome home! We are not celebrating this year, not one year yet since my mum passed away…but I saw Eddie pressure-pumping his driveway! Don’t think he’s with Pansar anymore, not sure.

    1. I see! I read your posts about New Dragon, the new zi char place. Is the price reasonable there? Thinking to bring my sister and dad. Yup, Eddy’s not with Pansar anymore.

      I have not been there for a long time now…ever since I was served a fish big enough for 10 when there were only 3 of us…and it most certainly was not cheap, the whole fish (we used to get a slice when they were just a coffee shop kind of place at Jalan Maju) – they should be around still, prices are ok.

      They opened a branch at Rejang Park, further in but I think they did not do well. Closed down now…and I did hear that because the guy was here and there, not always at one place, what they dished out went downhill so the customers went elsewhere. Not sure how it is now.

  3. It does seem that if you don’t have a presence online these days that nobody will find you.

    It does seem so and in the end, those very active online will attract a lot of customers, nice glossy pictures and all but some may not be that great actually – others may be better but they lack aggressive marketing.

  4. The sauce does look very thick. For the Terengganu version, I prefer the sauce to be thick because we add cucumbers and beansprouts to ours and these tend to ooze water, therefore diluting the sauce.

    Yes, initially…and I did not think much of it then. There were beansprouts inside too, other than the kangkong, and when I tossed everything together, the sauce became less thick – maybe it kind of got diluted too and became very nice.

  5. The one at my neighbourhood hawker centre is good and has got a lot of ingredients for S$3.00

    Just do not convert to MYR, then that is very cheap indeed.

  6. Is that Char Siew inside the Lor Mee, we do not have Char Siew in Lor Mee here in SG.

    It is. So far we do get that in our lor mee here, just a few slices. I think they did not have that in the one I had in Penang.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com