You gotta go…

You gotta go and try the Foochow fried noodles here…

Chu Lai Cafe

…they told me. Obviously they liked it a lot and felt it would be worth my while.

It is located right across the road from the old Sibu mosque…

Old Sibu mosque

…that is undergoing massive restoration works at this point in time. Some may recall that a photograph of this coffee shop was in the news at one time like it was the epitome of the racial harmony between the races here, quite unlike in some other parts of the country.

I would never have dropped by if I had not been urged by my friends as parking around here would be a pain especially when there is that forever-crowded bank at the other end of the block. Often I would see cars lining the side of the street, illegally parked, so of course, it would be virtually impossible to find a parking space around there.

Well, I was early last Saturday morning and it was raining as a result of which, business was slow…

Chu Lai Cafe, inside

…plus it was the weekend, not a working day so there were ample parking spaces all around.

There is a Malay/Muslim stall…

Chu Lai Cafe Malay/Muslim stall

…in front and it looked like it had its following for while I was there, I saw customers dropping by for the nasi biryani with curry chicken (and pickles by the side), RM6.50, available only on Saturdays. Good grief! Somehow or other, you would not see me having that or chicken rice at 8 o’ clock in the morning even though I would go for nasi lemak for breakfast once in a while.

No, I did not order the A Mo coffee…

Chu Lai Cafe A mo coffee

Literally translated, A Mo or ang mo, to be exact, means red hair, a local reference to westerners or Caucasians so that probably was their version of the kind of coffee one would get at those celebrated coffee places at at least four times the price. The one with ice is RM3.00 a glass.

I happily had my local coffee, black and extra strong with ice (RM1.80)…

Chu Lai Cafe kopi-o-peng

…and yes, they did it pretty well and it was very much to my liking.

I had the Foochow fried noodles special (RM8.00)…

Chu Lai Cafe Foochow fried noodles special 1

…and yes, it was good, loaded with a whole lot of ingredients…

Chu Lai Cafe Foochow fried noodles 2

…and if you’re from out of town and you are staying at the hotel around 100 metres away from this coffee shop, this would be a good place to drop by for this authentic Foochow dish – not everybody does it well, that much I can tell you but for me, at that price especially, I would much sooner go for this cheaper and to me, nicer moon version round the corner from my house and other than its very much closer location away from the congestion in the town centre, parking is a breeze there plus it is free!

CHU LAI CAFE (2.292279, 111.824598) is located along Jalan Kamoung Nyabor beside/behind the WTK Building directly across the road from the old Sibu mosque and two blocks of shops away, within walking distance, from the RH Hotel.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

6 thoughts on “You gotta go…”

  1. Nice plate of special Foochow fried noodles. Huge portion with lots of ingredients. Rm8 is a bit pricey though.

    With prawns and sotong and liver, what do you expect? These days, the regular at RM4.00 a plate, you will get bits of meat barely visible…and equally miserable bits of green vegetables. However, I do feel some places in the town centre tend to be a bit more pricey – maybe rental is higher.

  2. Such a lovely plate of Foochow fried noodle. So many ingredients. It was good.

    Yes, it was good. Not the best but good enough.

  3. A Mo Kopi hee..hee… so cute! I would enjoy that plate of Foochow noodles especially when it comes with liver!

    Come! Plan a trip over here and for once, you can get to try the real things – all the Foochow delights here that I always blogged about. I assure you that you will not regret it and will want to come again!

  4. The noodles look so good. I’m sure I wont be able to finish it by myself looking at the mountainful of ingredients in it.

    It was good and yes, the serving was kind of big, you will have to share with somebody.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com