Sweet treats…

That day, Christmas Day, after our so-so lunch here, we adjourned to this place

Nice Gelateria

…for dessert.

We have not been here for a long time for no apparent reason. We just didn’t and it seemed that they changed the flavours regularly…

Nica Gelateria gelato & cakes

…so they did not have the ones we liked before. In fact, it had been so long I couldn’t even remember what we used to enjoy a lot.

They had a few pretty sweet young things running the place now, as sweet as their gelato, conversant in English and going all out to please. They insisted that we tried as many flavours as we liked using those little spoons like the pink ones at that popular ice cream place in the cities. With that kind of service, I sure would not mind dropping by again and again.

We did not order any drinks as we were quite full from lunch but as soon as were seated, we were served this bottle of drinking water…

Nica Gelateria complimentary water

…on the house unlike some places around town where they would charge you for that. Tsk! Tsk!

They seemed to have a wider range of macarons…

Nica Gelateria macarons

…now but I did not order those nor their mille crepes and their cakes.

I couldn’t resist asking for their crème brûlée tart (RM6.90)…

Nica Gelateria creme brulee tart

…to try though but at the end of the day, I think I would prefer that the regular way, not in a tart.

Of course, we had their gelato…

Nice Gelateria poster

…and I absolutely loved their fresh durian gelato so much that I simply had to have a double scoop (RM12.80)…

Nica Gelateria durian gelato

…while my missus settled for a single (RM7.80).

My girl is not into durian so much and she had their Bailey and Earl Grey (RM12.80)…

Nica Gelato Bailey & Earl Grey

…one scoop each, and yes, she said they were good.

We sure enjoyed ourselves and that sure made up for the not-so-exciting lunch that we had earlier that day.

NICA GELATERIA (2.302620, 111.842988) is located at Wisma Liberty/Wisma Sri Minyak at No. 14, Block 3, Jalan Pedada – on your left, past the Jalan Ulu Oya Road traffic lights if you are coming from town.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

14 thoughts on “Sweet treats…”

  1. Wow you had double-scoop of that durian gelato and your mrs had a single scoop for herself. If it was my family, we would have taken a double scoop and all 4 will dig in. And get other flavors some other days and dig in together again.

    We usually do that at Payung where the serving is really huge, one shared by 3. These scoops are quite small and I liked it so much I wanted two and didn’t want to share. My girl is not into the durian so she ordered her own. Christmas mah, when to pamper ourselves if not during this special occasion. Good excuse, eh? Hehehehehe!!!!

  2. Gelato. Must be smooth and creamy. I like that.

    Not a big fan of creme brulee. Hehe.

    You must check this place out if you happen to drop by Sibu – they have the complete equipment and facilities and they went for training – in Singapore, I think. Really very very nice…and fresh too unlike the ones we had at a mall here sometime ago! That one, closed down liao!

    These days, we have the goat’s milk gelato, made in Kuching, sold at most supermarkets here. Of course that one is not as nice and no, it is not that cheap either. 😦

    I’m the only one in the family who likes creme brulee – they are not crazy about egg custard.

  3. Yes, gelato or ice cream for me too. The rest can give a pass.

    Sweet…and expensive! Best reserved for special occasions but it’s a lovely place for young people to sit and chat over a gelato or a coffee or whatever they may have in store.

  4. Gelatos are too sweet to my liking, prefer soft serve 😀

    The ones here are just right, probably toned down on the sweetness to suit the local taste. Their macarons are mostly too sweet for my liking – that is why I only like the salted caramel, not as sweet as the rest.

  5. Macarons also too sweet to my liking…

    You haven’t tried the ones here. Someone said the ones at the Ladurée outlet at Pavilion, KL, aren’t too sweet either…unlike those original ones somebody had in France.

  6. Very nice desserts. But macaroons I can leave alone.

    Why? Too sweet? I only like their salted caramel, not as sweet as the rest and I would nibble bit by bit…not so much because it is too sweet but at the price they are going for, I would like to stretch it as much as possible. Normally, anything that size, I would just throw the whole thing in the mouth and finish it in one gulp. 😀

    1. I find them sickly sweet and that they’re really nothing special.

      Nothing great, that’s for sure. Thankfully, the ones here, there is one that is not so sweet. Snob appeal – people have this thing about eating these overrated stuff from abroad and gloat about it. At the price of one of those, we can get to enjoy a lovely plate or bowl of noodles here and derive a lot more satisfaction from it.

  7. No love for durian! hahaha .. Happy New Year STP and family.. all the best!

    Thank you, and a Terrific 2018 to you and yours too.

    Oh? You’re one of the few odd ones out, yours truly included – will eat but not crazy about durians though I do enjoy durian desserts. The whole town is buried in the fruit right now, a bumper harvest this year. You’ll see (and smell) it here, there and everywhere…and no, I did not buy any, not even one!!!

  8. I think I have fallen for Nica after seeing so much dessertlicious food up there!!

    Well, you will not be able to enjoy all that they have to offer…unless you come over. Been a number of years already!

  9. Ooohhh!! Ice cream, I want! That reminds me, I have an ice cream maker sitting in the freezer. Time to take it out and me me some ice cream 🙂

    It’s gelato, my dear, gelato! 😀 😀 😀

  10. baileys gelato is perfect for people like me who love alcoholic flavours, heheh 😀

    She loves the coffee liquer and she enjoys the kahlua ice cream at Payung here too though she does not really drink.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com