What’s for lunch today…

I bought some of Stephanie’s very yummy mushroom pies for my friends to try and I dropped by here to pass some to Mary but she was out of town, in Bangkok. In the end, I just passed them to her very nice and friendly staff and asked them to enjoy on her behalf. Hehehehehe!!!! I did PM-ed her via Facebook to let her know and she asked me what I wanted from there. I told her that I did not want anything but knowing her, she would not take no for an answer and she brought these…

From Mary

…back for me. Oooooo…I sure can’t wait to try them out now!!! Real Thai indeed!

I went to the restaurant…

Flavours Thai Kitchen by day

…to pick up the goodies before noon last Saturday – they are open for lunch as well now, except on Wednesdays…

Flavours Thai Kitchen open for lunch

…not only for breakfast (daily)…

Flavours Thai Kitchen open for breakfast

…and dinner (except Wednesdays too).

I was early, not quite noon yet,  but the nice Filipino guy there, Jun, said we could go in and have our lunch, no problem at all – the Thai chef, Jos, was ever ready to whip up anything that we fancied. It appeared to me that there were actually no lunch sets and we could order anything we wanted from their regular dinner menu.

I asked for a glass of iced water and they gave me a glass plus one whole jug…

Jug of water

…of it and it was on the house! Now, ain’t that so very nice?

Of course, we had their pad thai (RM13.90)…

Flavours Thai Kitchen pad thai 1

…and while it was not exactly what we were expecting the last time we had it, this time, it was perfect…

Flavours Thai Kitchen pad Thai 2

…just like that first time when my missus and I enjoyed it so much and definitely very much nicer than what we had at that other Thai place in town…and yes, Andrew, they do have crushed peanut in it now.

That was their single serving but I do think there would be more than enough for two…or even three, if you’re ordering something else as well. In our case, we wanted to try the Chiangmai curry noodles (RM15.90)…

Flavours Thai Kitchen Chiangmai curry noodles 1

…to see what it was like and it turned out to be noodles deep-fried till nice and crispy, like what one would find in the claypot ones or what they do in the case of Cantonese fried noodles, served in a very nice green curry-like broth…

Flavours Thai Kitchen Chiangmai curry noodles 2

…with a whole lot of chicken in it. We enjoyed it a lot and because there was so much in the big bowl, we shouldn’t have ordered their fried kway teow (RM8.90)…

Flavours Thai Kitchen fried kway teow

My cousin in Australia saw the photograph and said that the extra broad kway teow is something like the Vietnamese ones they have over there. Like our earlier orders, the serving was very big too and there was no way the three of us could finish all of it – that was why I asked Jun to put most of it in a doggy bag for me to take home.

Incidentally, if you drop by here and you see a sweet-looking girl who does not seem to acknowledge you at all – you can say what you want, you will not get any response from her…but try using hand gestures, they may work. She’s an OKU or an orang kurang upaya, one of those special people that Mary has taken in to help out at her restaurant – that is so very sweet and charitable of her to do that, really. As far as I could see that day, despite being orally and auditorily impaired, this girl did her work well.

That certainly was a delightful lunch and it sure goes without saying that we certainly would be back again…

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

16 thoughts on “What’s for lunch today…”

  1. Now that Mary has bought you so many varieties of paste, there is no excuse for you not to cook. Can’t wait for you to whip out delicious dishes anytime now. Good luck!!!

    The spirit is willing but the flesh is weak. Let me check the expiry dates. Hehehehehe!!!!

  2. The food looks very good, and so does that jug of water! 🙂

    Most refreshing! It has been so so so very hot here these few days, heatwave.

  3. I tried to bring some of those packet mixes back to my brother-in-law in Australia but they all got confiscated by customs!

    Oh dear! I wonder why, my cousins bring back so many things from here and Singapore and they can get away with murder. Have to declare everything, they say – and show them when they check.

  4. Awaiting to see your cooking with what Mary brought back…

    You probably would have to wait a while. My girl’s home for the week-long holidays and of course, we would be going round to eat and enjoy the best in town plus she may want to cook some nice things herself for us to enjoy at home. I wouldn’t want to hog the kitchen, just in case.

  5. yum, always have a liking for thai food. and you have the authentic paste to make your own thai cuisine at home!

    Yes, hopefully I will get down to it soon. Old people, getting to be so very lazy, just want to eat. 😀

  6. I love Pad Thai! With Lime juice squeezed over it! Love the chewy-resilient texture

    We enjoyed the one here very much, and yes, my girl did squeeze the lime all over it. Normally, I would not bother, just leave the lime by the side. Yunno, fat people, not into sour stuff so much. Hehehehehe!!!!!

  7. It is good to employ OKU and give them the work opportunity.

    The Pad Thai looks lovely. Can see they are generous with taugeh.

    Yes, that’s indeed a good thing to do, help the less fortunate.

    I loved the raw taugeh, mixed with the pad thai, very nice – the first time I had it, I did not think I would enjoy it and was going to leave it all by the side till my missus said somehow, it tasted real good.

  8. Looking forward to seeing your home cooked green curry dish! I was gonna say you could try to also make your own pad Thai at home, but I think that might be too laborious and require too many ingredients! 😉

    Yes, I did check out a recipe once – looks like a lot more work and a lot more ingredients than our regular fried kway teow, so I chickened out, of course. Anything that spells work is not for me. Hehehehehehe!!!!

  9. Looks like a fun yummy lunch.

    Loads of great stuff on their menu, authentic Thai chef and I hear another one is coming. Make sure you check this place out when you’re in town.

  10. Real Thai.. must be really nice.. looking forward to seeing what you cook with them! 🙂

    Wait ah! Wait a long long time, old man, very lazy these days. Hehehehehe!!!!

  11. Those packets of paste are very nice and nowadays there are so many of them for all kinds of dishes. Very useful and a real time saver.

    Yes, just like those curry pastes that we would use, so easy, minus all the hassle compared to cooking from scratch…plus some taste really good too.

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com