Just last week…

Gosh!!! Time does seem to fly. Just last week, we had the Easter weekend and before that, there was Good Friday, a day of fasting and abstinence though I’m exempted now – I am over 60. Nonetheless, I still tried to observe that as far as I could…and for the breaking of fast that night, Melissa cooked this baked smoked salmon pasta dish…

Melissa's smoked salmon pasta

…using the organic spaghetti that I got from my cousin in Brisbane

Organic spaghetti

…with bottled Ragu sauce, lots of cheese and everything else. It was really very nice…

Smoked salmon

…and all of us enjoyed it a lot.

On Easter morning, Sunday, after the morning service at a church here, we stopped by at this coffee shop in the town centre…

Aloha Corner

…for brunch.

Melissa had the fried pek koi or white rice cakes (RM3.50)…

Aloha fried pek koi

…which was not very nice as it was a bit too salty and kind of extra oily.

I had the highly-acclaimed Sarawak laksa special (RM7.00)…

Aloha Sarawak laksa special

…of which many have sung its praises. I thought it was good, very good but I would not say it got me jumping with delight and I wouldn’t be rushing back there for more, that’s for sure – not at that price…which is, in fact, enough for two bowls of kampua mee or fried noodles, Foochow-style and there will still be some change left over.

My missus had the old favourite, the Ah Tor fried kway teow (RM3.70, with extra egg)…

Ah Tor fried kway teow
*Archive photo*

…which is actually kway teow (flat rice noodles) fried with egg and with taugeh (bean sprouts) added, wrapped with egg a la Pattaya style. Like the dianpianngu, many would come from afar and head to this place just to eat this to appease their craving…but no, I am not really a fan and would much prefer my kway teow in other ways.

Well, though what we had was not really all that great, that was enough to tide us over till dinner which would be in the next post. Do come back for that, ok? See ya!!!!

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

19 thoughts on “Just last week…”

  1. Am early today coz couldn’t go back to zzz.. Wokeup to feed baby.. Oohhhh yummmzzz, Mel’s baked pasta looks so good.. Presentation also very nicr.. She’s a good cook wor.. I love your Sarawak laksa and the char kuey teow.. I can finish both at one time..

    Wahhhh!!! You’re so small, can eat so much kah? Yes, Melissa’s pasta was very nice, we all enjoyed that.

  2. Though am not a pasta person but Mel’s smoked salmon pasta dish does make me drool. Actually, am eyeing for the Sarawak laksa which is my favourite. Yumzzzzz!!!!!

    Pretty good here, as good as the best in Kuching, I would think…but even though they’re quite generous with the extra skinny prawns, this is more expensive. 😦

  3. Used to have RM5 bowl of laksa special but those were the day. Haha.

    Melissa is great cook, she does love pasta and cheese, I noticed.

    Yes, she’s more into western – Italian and Japanese. The Sarawak laksa you had at Yummy only RM5.00 and I would say it is nicer even though the one here is more popular among the locals.

  4. The baked pasta looks presentable!!

    Of course. My girl is very particular in what she does, a perfectionist.

  5. Waw, Melissa’s pasta dish looks very impressive! I would love to dig in too πŸ˜€ Would definitely be back to see what you had for dinner πŸ™‚

    Don’t get your hopes up too high. Let’s say we were quite disappointed.

  6. I love to taste the last three… I think I have tasted the last one before… can still remember the egg on top of the noodles…

    You did? Probably the one at Sg Merah, the sister’s stall or somebody related. No longer there.

  7. Wooaahh.. the laksa is even more expensive than those famous ones in Kuching O.o

    I don’t know if it is recently or what.. i do discover food and drinks nowadays are much more expensive.. and even a hair cut is more expensive nowadays 😦

    Prices of everything have been going up for a while now…but this is extra expensive RM7.00 for the special with the extra prawns. I reckon this is the most popular in town and in a way, rather over-rated actually. I know one at another place, only RM5.00 and I would say it is nicer even. Will drop by and try the special there one of these days to see what it’s like.

  8. Aloha, yum yum. Love the CKT, laksa and their red wine mee suah also very good!!

    Tried the mee sua before. Saw a lot of people eating it. They say the ayam penyet is nice but closed that day, Sunday. 😦 You had that, right?

  9. Interesting way of serving the kueh tiaw. The baked pasta looks good! I love salmon in my pasta.

    RM13 for 4 ham-thin slices…but once in a while, it’s ok. Must pamper oneself sometimes. πŸ˜‰ Kway teow’s Sibu style – they call it Ah Tor kway teow…after the man who started it.

  10. the extra egg for the kuey teow takes it to the next level πŸ˜€ and melissa’s baked pasta looks delicious too, the salmon looks perfectly done πŸ™‚

    Melissa’s pasta was very nice. As for the kway teow, I prefer it Penang-style. Some like it like this though – dunno why.

  11. Mind sharing the recipe of Smoked Pasta? Looks delicious! πŸ™‚

    Dunno, didn’t watch my girl cooking. All I know was she used the bottled Ragu gravy…and added this and that and also a lot of cheese.

  12. Home cooked is always the best and comforting. The dish was perfect and yumm!

    Indeed. And a whole lot cheaper and healthier than eating out too!

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com