Bend it…

I first saw this when Gerrie of the now-dormant blog drivenbymood.wordpress.com (Obviously, no mood anymore… LOL!!!) posted a photograph of it on Facebook…

Pad Thai noodles 1

It is not cheap, mind you! RM8.39 at Giant…and I just cannot stand them pricing the items like that – they’re not going to pay back the 1 sen change anyway, so why don’t they just put RM8.40? Probably they want people to buy more – if they buy 3, that would be RM25.17 and they would only need to pay RM25.15 – is that how it works?

Anyway, back to the post, I was very happy to get hold of it here (Apparently it is all sold out in Kuching…) as I had been looking for such packets of dried pad thai noodles or kway teow (flat rice noodles). I managed to buy one from The Store in Sungai Petani once and it was really very nice but the second time around, I bought another packet from the same place but it tasted like mihun – flattened mihun!

Well, I cooked a packet the other day and as everybody knows, I am the type that is not too disciplined enough to follow recipes or for that matter, cooking instructions…but I did the best I could even though I did “bend the rules” a little bit. LOL!!!

There are two packets of the noodles in each pack and I obediently boiled both in salted water for 3 minutes, drained it and rinsed it in cold water. Then, I had to prepare the necessary ingredients. According to the instructions, I had to fry an omelette in the oil and slice to be used later for garnishing and I did just that…

Pad Thai ingredients 1

I would have to fry the prawns next which I did but I added some slices of fish cake as well…

Pad Thai ingredients 2

I was supposed to take them out of the wok and add them in later…but I didn’t! Hehehehehe!!!! I just threw in the noodles and added the seasoning (after diluting it with water) – this comes in the pack as well, two separate sachets so you can use one at a time if you are going to cook the two portions of pad thai noodles separately.

Then, I threw in the sliced egg and the taugeh (bean sprouts) and stir-fried till the bean sprouts were adequately cooked. Then I served all that in a big plate and garnished with crushed peanuts…

Pad Thai garnishing 1

…sliced chillies and daun sup (Chinese celery)…

Pad Thai garnishing 2

This was what the end result looked like…

Pad Thai noodles 2

Well, as they say, the test of the pudding is in the eating…

Pad Thai noodles 3

…and I would say it was nice – kind of pale, somewhat sweet and something like what I had at the Ark not too long ago. I did not really fancy the lingering taste of msg in the mouth after eating it though…and on the whole, I would prefer to cook it our own way – char kway teow style.

If only they would sell just the pad thai noodles, minus the seasoning…and at a lower price!