Give a little bit…

I did not go visiting this Hari Raya. I just did not feel the mood as my missus was working – all her Malay/Muslim colleagues were on  leave, so they were short of staff…and my daughter’s all the way in Wellington, New Zealand unlike last year when she was home for the week-long break.

I did go out though…but mainly, it was to go to my parents’ house to give some stuff to their Indonesian maid for the festive occasion. I did not really buy anything elaborate; all I did was to drop by the mini-supermarket near my house and picked up a few items to stuff into this paper bag…

Paper bag

…that used to hold the mooncakes that a KL blogger-friend gave me.

I got her a can of Yeo’s beef rendang and another, the chicken vindaloo. I thought she would like those as there are pictures of Chef Wan on the label. We would watch him on TV quite often in the morning with my mum while having our 10 o’clock tea. Then I bought a pack of Sedap instant noodles – soto ayam flavour that she likes and also some individual packs of biscuits including Oreo’s and Chipsmore chocolate chip cookies – “Now you see it, now you don’t!”

Well, like I said, it wasn’t very much actually but when I wished her, “Selamat Hari Raya,” and handed the bag to her, I could see the tears well in her eyes as she replied, “I cannot repay you in any way…but God will. He will repay you.” Good grief! I was so touched by her words – there I was just giving her a little bit and what more could I ever ask for in return, other than God’s blessings.

I still have these two tins of wee’s canned products…

wee's canned products

– one beef curry and the other, chicken but they could not fit into the bag. I like their satay sauce, so I was thinking that perhaps, these would be nice too. Maybe I will just bring them over and give to her another day.

I guess it is true what they say – that little things  mean a lot…and to quote from the Bible, “I was hungry and you gave me meat: I was thirsty, and you gave me drink: I was a stranger, and you took me in. Naked and you clothed me: I was sick, and you visited me: I was in prison, and you came unto me…. Verily I say unto you, in as much as you have done it unto one of the least of these my brethren, you have done it unto Me.” (Matt. 25:35-40)

Keep the peace and spread the love…