Green…

I do not think we can go to a restaurant and order a plate of mustard green…or kua chai as we call it in Hokkien. Not long ago, they did serve the crunchy stalks and from what I gathered, they imported those from China. But other than those, I do not know why they are not on the menu alongside the usual veg like cangkuk manis, kangkong (water spinach), kai lan (Chinese broccoli) and the baby version of it, tau geh (bean sprouts), the ferns – midin and paku and so on and so forth.

I like it as a soup dish. I would boil some meat bones with garlic…and add salt and msg according to taste and just before serving, I would bring it back to boil and put in the kua chai and cook it for just a little while. It is not so nice if it is overcooked – soft and soggy.

I also fry it…

STP's fried mustard green 1

Just heat up a bit of oil and throw in some chopped garlic and fry till brown. The thinly-sliced chilli is optional. Add some prawns…or meat if you prefer and cook for a while. Finally, throw in the veg – the stalks first as they take longer to cook…and then the green leafy parts. Add just a little bit of water and a teaspoon of chicken stock, mix well and serve…

STP's fried mustard green 2

The veg cost me around 80 sen at the mini-supermarket near my house, so all in all, I guess that dish wouldn’t cost more RM2.00-3.00 with all the other ingredients added. The best part, of course, was it was very nice…

Well, if anyone’s interested, they can click this link to see how they fry it with crab meat. I would think mine is simpler though and probably looks and tastes  nicer too. What do you all think? LOL!!!