Are you man enough…

When I was in the vicinity the other day, I dropped by here…

Sajian Ummi

…for something light. I’ve been here before but was not impressed by what I had at the time.

This time around, I noticed that they had a roti canai stall…

Sajian Ummi roti canai stall

…now so I decided to give it a try.

I placed my order and sat down to wait. In the meantime, the teh tarek ais (iced pulled tea) that I asked for was served…

Sajian Ummi teh tarek ais

…and yes, in line with the current no single-use plastic rule, no straw was provided. I wished they had given a spoon or a stirrer though, to stir the melting ice in the drink.

I ordered the roti jantan

Sajian Ummi roti jantan

…and for the uninitiated, jantan in Malay refers to a man…or to be more precise, it means male so what I ordered was actually roti canai with two eggs! Talk about being symbolic, eh? LOL!!!

Yes, it was very nice and the dhal dip was exactly how I would like it – thick and rich and creamy. I sure wouldn’t mind stopping by here again for this should I happen to be around this part of the woods.

SAJIAN UMMI (2.2960502,111.8938157) is located along Lorong Ulu Oya 11, off Jalan Oya among the shops on the right of Jalan Permai area, across the road from the Sibu General Hospital.

Author: suituapui

Ancient relic but very young at heart. Enjoys food and cooking...and travelling and being with friends.

7 thoughts on “Are you man enough…”

  1. Oh, now it clears my doubt and know why it is called roti jantan., hahaha…..😄😄😄

    I was rather amused by the thought too. LOL!!!

  2. Lol. 2 eggs for jantan. What a name. Wonder why they called it that.

    I saw at one other place a long time ago and was intrigued by the name so I asked what that was…and they said got dua biji telur. Pretty obvious why it is thus named, don’t you think? LOL!!!

  3. ooo, the egg yolks in the roti are still runny – now i want that! most of the roti telur i’ve had just taste like egg white, heheh 🙂

    I enjoyed that more than roti telur, runny yolks and all but at least, the roti telur I have had here tasted like omelette.

  4. I want to try that, with the eggs still runny but i don’t get the joke lol !

    No worries! What you don’t know won’t hurt you! LOL!!!

All opinions expressed in my blog are solely my own, that is my prerogative - you may or may not agree, that is yours. To each his/her own. For food and other reviews, you may email me at sibutuapui@yahoo.com